Behind on Updates! in These Foolish Things

  • Aug. 10, 2023, 6:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m woefully behind on my updates. I owe you two Rate-A-Dates!

But the rest of my life seems to be on hold while I try to secure my next paying gig. It’s stressful, y’all. In fact, I don’t really want to get into it too deeply.

I did tell you that I flew out to my former city for an interview, yes? The latest from these guys is that they are actually lowering the salary for the position…huh? That’s right. They reduced it nearly $15K and told me that I’d need to be happy with that if I still wanted to be considered. Honestly? I’m kinda like eff you.

The explanation was that the Director of the division is new on the job and needs to really dig in and kind of fulfill that role and the Senior Manager (what I applied for) would have to essentially play the role of the “lesser” manager (while still managing 4 direct reports) and grind out the work. None of it makes sense. I’m not happy with that.

The job I was having the feels for sent me a rejection and I’m sad about that.

So now I feel like I’m back to square one. This absolutely sucks and I’m not happy.

I will STILL tell you that this unhappiness is better than the horrid hell that I felt working at The Cutie Pie Company.

I am awaiting word about my COBRA coverage, and fingers crossed, this crazy company actually has something they can send me to continue my medical coverage. I think that legally they are supposed to, but not all small companies do? Still, I had to send an inquiry to the President of Cutie Pie and he hates me, so I’m nervous and scared about the reaction. I don’t want to “poke the bear” but I NEED medical insurance!!!

Anyway, I’ll prob come back here this afternoon and start working on the two RADs I owe you. Don’t hold your breath. Ha!

Love you,
GS


Nash August 11, 2023

They are absolutely required to offer you COBRA if they have any kind of company wide health plan. It does not cost them a thing, they don't administrate it, some third party vendor will do that. The cost will be 2 percent above what your company was paying for the plan and that can be costly. You have either 60 or 90 days after termination to sign up, cannot remember which.

Jinn August 11, 2023

For all the Biden administration keeps saying the economy is sound and the job market is great ; it does not seem like it . A rich hospital in my city just fired a couple hundred employees today . That is a huge shock because they are constantly advertising for staff . It’s an institution that burns money and takes it back in . I am sure there are a lot of people wondering what the heck is going on.
I hope they have to give you the cobra.
Those places you applied must be pretty inadequate. I hope you find more to check out.

plushcreep August 11, 2023

What Nash says. COBRA coverage is federally mandated. The caveat is, there are certain qualifying conditions...but I can't imagine anything getting in your way of being eligible, given the circumstances!

sudare August 12, 2023

I'm keeping my fingers crossed for your next opportunity.

Serin December 31, 2023

Much belated sorry for that stunt they pulled with the pay. That's just crappy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.