eat my words in 2014

  • Aug. 21, 2014, 1:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

11:20pm

So, today was interesting. In one of those weird, I don't know what I'm supposed to think about it, kind of ways.

I think I mentioned last week that we ran into a client at that Expo we did on the Army base and I joked about how I was waiting for my BBQ chicken he'd promised me? [Actually, I don't think I've posted it yet...] Well it turns out that I had to eat my words because he actually showed up with the chicken today. I think he like planned the whole thing too because he was saying how he got out earlier than usual. I heard something about how it was because he was waiting for a UPS package but I'm not sure.

Turns out the chicken was pretty amazing too! Like better than I expected and he made us rice as a side dish! After not really expecting him to show up, I guess it became quite the thing. Didn't even have to cook myself dinner tonight!

He stopped by the office sometime this afternoon, but I was right in the middle of a huge printer issue so we didn't talk much. I figured he'd drop it off and head out. He must have been waiting for something though. Not sure if it was for one of us to try it, or what, because he stuck around for several hours. Even when another client came in and Mom had to excuse herself, he kinda just roamed around the front desk. I didn't really have a chance to talk to him because I was chatting with tech support and then trying to do a bunch of my own research since they couldn't help me. He was there forever though. Mostly talking to Mom and occasionally I would chime in with a comment or something from whatever desk I was working on.

Honestly, I kinda wanted him to go away. I'm not good at these social things and I was super stalling on what I was doing. I couldn't actually finish the work today but I kept pretending like I could. He didn't leave until an hour after our closing time when I mentioned I'd be there until midnight. I don't even know what he was waiting for. All kinds of thoughts crossed my mind. Like maybe he wanted to eat with us? Or maybe he wanted to see my face when I tried it? Or maybe he was just super bored?

Mom joked about how he was too old for me and too young for her, so she didn't know why he was waiting around. She apparently stopped talking on purpose but then didn't know what to do when he didn't leave. haha. It's not that he's weird or anything. It was just getting kind of uncomfortable.

I can't figure him out. Like a part of me thinks that maybe he's trying to flirt with me? But he's not very obvious about it. Which is probably what I get for joking around with people. He was teasing me quite a bit when he came in the office this year and I noticed he started doing that after I remembered his name the year before. I mean, I do that for a majority of my clients [it's my thing!] but maybe he took it the wrong way. And maybe when I joked with him last week about the BBQ chicken, he thought it was like a flirtatious thing? I'm not sure.

He could be my father though. His son is actually only a few years younger than I am.
What's with these guys in their 40s "hitting" on me anyway?!? The banker was a couple years younger than this guy and he's the last person that wanted to take me out. hah. Just my luck!

Now, of course, I could be totally over-analyzing this. Maybe he's after my mother? ;-) It's just the vibe we seem to be getting. I mean he put the plate of chicken on my desk and said it was for me. Then he made some comment about how if I liked cowboys he'd put on his boots and hat and show up like that next time? So awkward. haha!

He's a nice man, but I couldn't. And it doesn't help that he has one of my favorite guy names [charles] and rides a motorcycle, and apparently has cowboy boots? and listens to country music, and can cook an amazing piece of BBQ chicken. ugh.

sigh

Why couldn't he be like 20 years younger? And why are all these old men the only ones that show me any sort of 'attention'? Where are all the 20-somethings? Why can't I seem to impress any of them with my witty banter and stupid jokes?? =|

I'm going to go contemplate this. And figure out how I'm going to get in touch with this guy tomorrow. He said he was going to give me his number to call him after I ate, but I played the whole thing off as a joke. heh. Mom also made some silly comment about how I should cook him some of my favorites now. Since it's my turn or whatever. I think she probably said that before she started thinking that something else was going on here. hah. I plan to avoid that one for a while. But I do have to call or something tomorrow to thank him and let him know it was quite good.

That should be fun...

rose.
11:44pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.