No Place Like Home in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 2, 2023, 2:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here is my sweet purple basil being engulfed by a healthy interloper plant. I have no idea what the green plant is, but it is thriving. I tried cutting it back, but it is surrounding the basil, so I finally gave up and let it grow.

A few years ago, the cats went through their scratching post, and I needed a new one to attempt to keep Diego from using cardboard boxes as one. We found a small carpet covered tower with a flat top for a bed and a secret shelf up inside. They did use one side for scratching and the bed on top was a good place for one of them to hang out when I was working but they were uninterested in the secret shelf. I eventually got them a carpet and sisal rug tunnel that was a successful alternative.

Moving back in we put the tower in a different place, a corner of the bedroom between two bookcases but with a view of the room. This has turned into Carlo’s special place when he is not hanging out next to me. The doorbell rang a couple of times this morning as I got a couple of deliveries, (Swedish sponge cloths, laundry soap, face wash in bulk). He has been hanging out on the secret shelf since. It is an excellent place for a traumatized cat back in his own world that wishes not to be available for being grabbed and put in a carrier.

What is old is new again.

The cute young maintenance guy came yesterday and switched the lines into the washer, and it is now working at the indicated temperatures. I am not going to quibble about the range hood light and fan being hooked up to a light fixture that has to be reached for when before I could use the designated switches.

I am done quibbling.

My only concern now is that they may tell me I need to vacate the storage room I still have all my books and kitchen stuff and a few other sundry things in. Fingers crossed I can get to those when I get to those. No hurry.

Everything is easier here. It runs at least 10 degrees cooler than the loaner apartment. My body is accustomed to the spatial dimensions. I am positively giddy with that ease. I only felt bad for a day. It was clearly an indication of overdoing it and not eating regularly for a few days. My energy level rises as I settle in. I got out for provisions yesterday and to the garden this morning.

I am getting one of those new miracle cloth mops to keep the floors clean and looking good. The extra heads already came. I will need to figure a few things about the floors out when things cool down in the fall but that is then, and this is now, and I would like a couple more days of not having to specifically figure things out.

Because when I moved out, I thought that it wouldn’t be more than two weeks, I left some tomato and flower starts in my portable cold frame. They died, of course, and it made me sad and yesterday I cleaned that all up. That made me feel better. That I can get a fresh start.

Remember my sciatica flare up? It only lasted about a week before I managed to get it under control with movement. My doctor prescribed PT for me and I have the first of those appointments on Saturday. I can’t even imagine what it would be like if I’d had to wait this long in pain. Ugh. I am going to go because she might have some practical recommendations I have not thought of, and they have equipment I don’t have for strengthening.

I would like to avoid another flare up.

The wild birds are slowly coming back to my feeder and bird bath. First it was a curious sparrow, then a house finch, and today chickadees and juncos. Watching those chickadees tag teaming earlier made my heart sing.

There really is no place like home.


mcbee August 02, 2023

I can feell you breathing easier! It should all fall into place now and hopefully life will normalize for you!

Jinn August 03, 2023

I am glad you and Carlos are home . 🏡

Deleted user August 03, 2023

Glad your sciatica flare was short-lived! It would have been horrible to deal with it for a couple of months with all of the upheaval. Good luck with the PT!

Zipster August 05, 2023

i am so happy to hear how you are re-claiming your space. And good for Carlo for finding the secret shelf and its useful shelter. I am sure every day it is more like home sweet home again.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.