RAD: The Party Atty in These Foolish Things

  • Aug. 2, 2023, 11:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Name: The Party Attorney

Introduction Platform: Bumble

Age: 58 (or so he says)

Relationship Status: Divorced for long time - sounds like he’s on great terms with his ex. A daughter who sometimes stays with him - I think there’s an adult son in there somewhere too?

Job: Trial attorney with offices in NYC, in my city, as well as an artists community several hours from here (it’s a place that I LOVE, actually)

Lives: Has an apartment in [my city] and two airstreams with a deck in the middle in this small artsy town that I love!

Length of Date: Nearly 3 ½ hours

We Did: He invited me to this cute little bar/dinner spot near his apartment downtown. We split a bottle of champagne and appetizers. And then we had more cocktails - some kind of cucumber summer drink that was lovely! The bar was super hip - converted house - and we sat in the front room by a window next to a fun bar where all the young people were. I do feel quite old sometimes in this town.

He Looked: Honestly, he looked much older than 58. And yet he has a very young air about him - almost surfer-like attitude (you know the type: happy all the time, always a smile and a no-worry, no-care attitude). I was standing outside of the venue looking at how cute the place was and he came whirring past me on his bicycle! He was dressed in a nice white linen shirt, jeans and flip flops. Kinda like the anti-lawer! He’s tall and I loved that. He’s hip and cool…but his face looks older than 58. Maybe it’s the drinking?

I Looked: I wore something different than the summer sundress! I wore a short summer romper! Still wore heels and wore my hair straight and down. I thought I looked pretty and and one point he told me how he was mesmerized by my eyes!

Convo: Lots of talk about places we have in common. He was born and bred in Manhattan and spent his whole life there until the pandemic when he moved to the artsy town in the middle of nowhere. He brought his whole family there during the pandemic (including his ex-wife who was an executive at Google - she didn’t live with them, she was in the next town over, but it was nice of him to get everyone out of NYC when it was the epicenter of Covid). I also told him some of my funny stories of being in NYC when I was going there a lot and other travel stories and some of the shitty things about the last few years. It was good convo. We never had a moment of silence.

High Point: I had a feeling I would enjoy the evening simply based on his happy photos in his profile, but I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would - especially when the first words out of his mouth were “Do you want to get a bottle of champagne?”

Low Point: He wanted to tongue kiss at the end of the evening and I wasn’t ready for tongue.

How It Ended: Like I said earlier, we shut down the place! Well, they only stay open until 10 and we left around 10:30 (but the bar was still full, interesting). He walked my to my car which was parked about a block away on the street and tried to tongue kiss me, but I kept my mouth closed. I hate that because it then becomes and awkward kiss. How can guys not understand that at nearly 60 years old? Guess some things never change.

Chances Are: Well, we discussed going to the cute coffee place that I love for coffee early this morning, but I couldn’t get up early enough and he obviously didn’t either. Maybe? Maybe next time? Who knows. I can tell he’s the kind of guy who likely likes to date around a lot. Regardless, I had fun and now have a cute new bar to know about!

Date Rating: B+


bobbi01 August 02, 2023

At least you are getting to see some cool spots in your new city. The tongue thing makes me think he has been out of the dating pool for a looooong time.

Jinn August 03, 2023

Yuck about the kiss . 🤮
But he might be fun when you know him better ,

sudare August 03, 2023

Funny… almost everyone has written about his tongue. I agree it was a bit too early. Btw, do you live in New York? Wow.

plushcreep August 03, 2023

Cute new bar, great new coffee shop. If nothing else comes of these dates, you're finding great places to hang out and grab a drink!

Fawkes Gal August 08, 2023

You've gotta build up to the tongue, man.

Serin September 07, 2023

You can train him about when to go for tongue. Training him for a fun and engaged conversation is unpossible.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.