Nowhere Near Perfect, But Good is Good Enough in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 31, 2023, 6:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

One of the reasons I like to take and share pictures of living plants is that they are imperfect. Sort of like me and my life. I took this earlier today on a tentative jaunt around the neighborhood. I woke up with major digestive issues. No nausea, thank goodness, but all the other fun things our digestion can throw at us.

I am better here later in the day, but I stayed close to home and kept it low key.

It could be something I ate, but my guess is that it is the overload on my body of getting everything I did get back in here so I could move back in. Can I just say: it was a lot of work. All the furniture is in, and all the necessary stuff I have been using for the last 17 weeks since they started the repairs. This is where being 69, even in good health, shows itself up.

For two days it was go go go, get it done. About 1/3rd of my stuff, including all my books are still over in the storage area. Most Honorable and Kes were so helpful on Saturday. Once I finished getting everything out of the loaner apartment yesterday morning I went back and cleaned. I might mention that Alice, the loaner apartment is up. There is elevation involved. The apartments are built on and in my place’s case, into a hill. My legs are tired.

The very best news, the better-than-expected news is that Carlo the cat, knew right away he was home. Even with everything smelling different and the reorientation of some of the furniture. He got it. He is curious and even more curious, but when he is not being curious, he is able to relax in a way I haven’t seen in four months. It is a huge relief.

And of course, I am thrilled. It is wonderful. My bed is like a dream.

But I am also aware here, as my body recovers from the big exertion there, that it is going to take me a good long while to recover from this.

Everybody is so excited for me. I appreciate that. No need to continue to be indignant on my behalf. I am grateful for the support.

And… in some ways this next slog, getting stuff back in and put away or disposed of will both be a joy but also a huge chore. I already have decision fatigue. It will be this quiet ongoing project that will fill up my days without all the drama the rather visible displacement brought.

I think my mood and attitude will improve as my bruises heal (hello blood thinner) and my muscles unclench, and my mind returns to its normal pursuits.

One funny thing, I was so tired Saturday, tired and gritchy and wanting a shower and I am in there with the new fixtures trying to figure out how the heck to turn the shower on. Everything is all simple and streamlined and I kept thinking I am smart; I can figure this out. But I couldn’t.

I ended up taking a bath.

Afterwards I texted Most Honorable to see if he could remember. We had investigated weeks and weeks ago. And I eventually found a YouTube video showing how to do it about the same time Most Honorable figured it out.

So not only am I now back in my home with Carlo where I belong, I am clean and hoping I will get to a point where I feel ready to tackle all the next things soon. Quietly, and with good cheer and a healthy well-functioning digestion.


Jinn July 31, 2023

Your stuff is not going anywhere. Take your time and relax . Settle in slowly . Start to feel good again. ❤️

mcbee August 01, 2023

I am so happy you are home, and now you can take your time to finish the other stuff. I feel great relief that you and Carlo are back in your nest.

Deleted user August 01, 2023 (edited August 01, 2023)

Edited

I'm happy for you, even if your GI tract isn't. How wonderful that Carlo is sliding right back into his groove, too. I'll echo those who say to take your time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.