Very Close Now in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 29, 2023, 8:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

On the way back from the garden. Today is the day. We got most of the powdery gray dust off the floors with damp miracle cloths yesterday and started moving the furniture back in to my apartment.

Most Honorable talked me into to taking the bedroom door off. They took it off when they were laying the flooring, so I knew it had been done recently. That doorway is a bit less spacious than the front door. That and the hand truck made getting the heavy workstation back in much easier. (Note to self, don’t take a door off in just stocking feet. Much easier to maneuver with hard shoes.)

The new flooring changes the acoustics. It is quite noticeable.

The plan is to move Carlo in a few hours, when Kes and Most Honorable get here and then start packing up and getting everything out of Alice, the loaner apartment today. I need to be fully out by noonish tomorrow.

This means I am going to sleep in my very own bed in my very own bedroom tonight! We moved the orientation of the bed. I am going to develop a little library space in my bedroom now that I am not working in there anymore. All the bookcases are in. I’ll move the books in last. Lovingly, I hope. Not in a hurry.

Eventually I would like to get a comfortable chair with a good light so I can sit up and read.

With the new floors, tub/shower, dishwasher and freshly rebuilt east facing wall it shows up the blinds, the paint on the woodwork and the old utilitarian furniture. All things to think about. Like, um, a proper remodel, with I don’t know, maybe planning?

One of my students has a condo and has been looking at the same kind of flooring. She was curious about mine and I sent her pictures, and she likes the look. She told me she envies me having it done. It is a daunting task even if one plans for it, as all of you know who have lived through a remodel.

A sad bit is that the excellent mobile internet unit I have been using for the last three months doesn’t work in my home apartment. It is oriented in such a way as to not have line of sight with the nearest cell tower. It is T-Mobile and I am hoping Verizon uses a different tower and I might be able to switch, but for now I am stuck with ridiculously overpriced cable.

This experience has been a crash course in learning how to manage uncertainty. Saying, “I don’t know” when people kindly ask after the progress has become the norm.

But! Today I know. Thank god.

I have managed to get about 2/3rds of the Gabapentin down Carlo. He is right here next to me while I type. I am doing the last load of laundry here.

Wish us luck, settling back in. Just in time for life to get more interesting in other ways.


Deleted user July 29, 2023

YAAAAAAAYYYYYYY!

Jinn July 30, 2023

Finally home ! Enjoy !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.