What a hill to die on... in A Day in the Life of Me

  • July 28, 2023, 9:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Welp.. a little bit more drama with the exited younger co-worker, and I’m pretty sure this will be it.

She put the two lawyers she left in a lurch down as references for her ‘dream job ‘ .
Well, of course both of them are pissed AF.
She didn’t even try to reach out and ask.
They both randomly got an email on Wednesday asking when would be a good time to get in touch.
They both responded with a refusal.
They must have passed on the word, because the next thing I know…the first of the two young lads who who have joined us got a msg from her, saying that she knew they refused, this was her dream and could her please please please be a reference…(also technically she would have been his assistant as well …)
And keep in mind, he was only with us for MAYBE 2 months before she left.
He told me he didn’t respond.

She then msg’d me.

I waited till I was home, because work has been CRAZY, I’ve hardly got time to go to the bathroom, let alone check my phone, and then I responded with a polite no.
Told her being a reference was a huge anxiety button for me (which it, worse than my own interviews), because it’s someone else’s job future on the line and that I hoped she was successful in getting it (which I do), but that I didn’t think I would have the answers to the questions they wanted to ask(apparently she already had a “work” reference and really needed a “legal” one), nor did I even actually have time in my day to take a call or answer a non work related email. (Again… Slammed from the time they all come in until I run for the bus.)
No response. All evening. Figured she was mad. But I was being honest.

Nothing in the morning.

Realized yesterday afternoon, we’re apparently no longer friends on FB.
So, that’s that.
Because I wasn’t comfortable with being a reference.

There’s at least on other interview coming in next week. Senior partner showed me the resume. I have a feeling I am going to recognize him when he comes in due to his previous work experiences .. lol

Second Young lad is settling in nice. He and the first are buddy’s, so I think that’s helped both of them.
Older co-worker tried to sweet talk me into moving out back.. I passed hard.. lol

It might include a few more bucks, but it also comes with alot more stress…lol
I’ve been filling in to the best of my ability to do the tasks that she used to do, building the actual physical files, doing alot of document and note saving for the ones left without an assistant. As well as trying to help older co-worker by taking what I can off her hands so she can focus on more pressing tasks. In top of my regular front desk tasks.
It’s running really well. But it will be a bit easier when we have an actual body for those lawyers again who can take a few more things off Olders plate that I can’t.

So yea, hopefully that is the end of that saga..lol


Bomb Shell July 29, 2023

I think you’re better off without her in your life. I do kind of feel bad for her because it’s her dream job, but she burned her own bridges and it’s no one fault but her own that they won’t give her a reference.

Canadian Lass Bomb Shell ⋅ July 31, 2023

Exactly. If she had handled it all a little better, and given proper notice and what not, they may actually have been willing to help...

Sleepy-Eyed John July 29, 2023

Hmmmm. She's a lawyer?

Canadian Lass Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ July 31, 2023

No, she was a legal assistant.

Sleepy-Eyed John Canadian Lass ⋅ July 31, 2023

Icic

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.