The beauty of crape myrtles in bloom help assuage somewhat the fierce, furnace-like heat of this July in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • July 26, 2023, 1:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Few plants give us what the Crape Myrtle does, a myriad of foliage colors in the spring, a virtual kaleidoscope of flower colors from summer into the fall, an array of fall leaf colors from all shades of red to golden yellows and purple, and finally (my favorite part, attractive exfoliating bark which becomes wonderfully apparent in the long shadows and low sun angle of winter.

From “The Introduction of Crape Myrtles in America”



You can’t go anywhere in Charleston in mid- summer without seeing crape myrtle trees on nearly every street.

Years ago in my journal, I wrote this: Along the streets of Charleston as I walk on my lunch hour break, I pass the bright pink and reddish clusters of delicate flowers on countless crape myrtle trees all over our city. They fill the streets of Charleston, New Orleans, and other Southern cities as well. I have been well acquainted with them since childhood. They are as distinctive a part of summer as fresh produce and summer flower gardens. They seem to be perpetually in bloom in summer, and that is why they are so popular. They are welcome splashes of color everywhere.

Crape myrtles are my favorite flowering trees. Others may have their softly pink cherry blossoms to admire, or white blossoms on apple trees. But those trees don’t grow here, while crape myrtles are everywhere to remind me of just how beautifully they transform our live oak studded, terribly hot and humid Lowcountry landscapes with their deeply saturated colors which, when first seeing a particularly gorgeous specimen, almost takes your breath away.

To me quite simply crape myrtles in bloom are symbolic of summer.

But, how very different summers years ago seem to me now. I just got through looking at more alarming global warming headlines:

Florida ocean temps surge to 100 degrees as mass coral bleaching event is found in some reefs

Saguaro cactus collapsing in extreme Arizona heat, scientist says

”My life stopped”, local people say they lost all in Greece wildfires

It boggles the mind.

In decades past, I could write lyrically about summer, the season of carefree vacations and lazy days when ice-cold lemonade or Nehi grape soda were the cool drinks to savor sitting on the porch in midafternoon. Not anymore. Even with a ceiling fan whirring and abundant shade, porches are baking hot this summer as just about everywhere else outside.

This afternoon about quarter to five, after my dentist visit, I decided to walk a couple of square blocks in the historic district area of here my car was parked. “MIT was a few degrees cooler than last week.

“Oh, it’s not so terribly hot,” I thought to myself, and, with my high-tech, wide-brimmed sun reflector hat on, I found myself marveling at my endurance. And I took lots of photos of crape myrtles and old houses and gardens. It was actually pleasant for awhile.

Recalling last week heat indices every day approaching 107 degrees, I would not have thought of doing this. However, after about 20 minutes I started feeling hot, and stepped up the pace back to my car. I got inside the interior furnace, quickly drank a bottle of water, turned up the AC high, and I was still hot and flushed. Finally, stopped in traffic briefly, I took out my fan-equipped spray bottle, misting my face and turning on the fan. Only then did I start cooking down.

Again, in summers past this would have sounded absurd to me. But no longer. I know it’s because of my age that I don’t handle heat nearly as well as so used to, but this is weird, heavy-humid heat like I’ve never felt before. For the first time in my life I’m actually scared to be outside in the new summer of climate change.

The very heart of summer
July 25, 2001

Summer is deep into itself now — mature, older, but not yet worn out. The earth is green and alive. Rain is a frequent visitor.

July reaches for a conclusion, and where do we find ourselves? Deep in the middle of the year, where lemonade dreams pour forth from sleepy minds on porches and verandas, on grassy lawns and in garden nooks, beneath singing mockers and squabbling jays, and on picnic benches by lazy rivers, everywhere but inside on an afternoon like this. Summer’s a time for daydreams, if you take the time.

Fresh breezes swirl from ceiling fans and, ah, yes, the garden provides a cool retreat after an afternoon of showers, for it was so hot.

This late summer day is just about done for now, the clouds lighter, the winds still. I saw the last rays of daylight peek from those same clouds and bathe an oak tree in warm, amber light, just for a little while. That rare light you don’t see often. It’s usually serendipitous. Night is much nearer now.

The  other morning as I walked through the garden to my car on the way to work, I passed under a tall crepe myrtle which was full of small sparrows chirping with such happiness and delight that I was immediately drawn into the midst of that sound and swept up for mere seconds in a tiny, fleeting epiphany.  And that  was that life is good and beautiful.  It  was as if a sunbeam had suddenly emerged from the clouds and illuminated my path.
 So here’s to the crape myrtle and summer memories when times were considerably more carefree than now.

The most beautiful blooms and colors of crape myrtles:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/t5UY367TMu


Jinn July 26, 2023 (edited July 26, 2023)

Edited

I love Crape Myrtles too . The only way I can grow one here is in a pot and I have done that before but I never got it to live a whole year . I may try again someday .
I am having a really bad time with the heat the last couple of days. Our AC is out and it’s been uncomfortable for all of us but I seem to be having the worst time. It does not help that our refrigerator/ ice maker called it craps today too; cruel and unusual punishment .

Oswego Jinn ⋅ July 26, 2023

Wow! That is a total bummer!! How soon can you get the AC fixed? You really need it these days! Honestly, this is a scary summer!

The blooming crepe myrtles really have given me a huge psychological lift!

Jinn Oswego ⋅ July 26, 2023

It will be Aug 1 at the very earliest before the Heating/ cooling people can fit us in :-( and it’s a heat advisory for all those days before that . :-( It’s awful .

Jinn Oswego ⋅ July 26, 2023

They came today and are working on it . Hallelujah! It won’t be done but it’s a start.

Oswego Jinn ⋅ July 26, 2023

Yeahhhh!!!

Jinn Oswego ⋅ July 26, 2023

It’s so much better !

music & dogs & wine July 26, 2023

Absolutely love the ones with the Spanish moss ♥️

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ July 28, 2023

I agree! The blooms are so interesting set amidst the moss! I always look for that and the patterns and textures! :)

ConnieK July 27, 2023

Nice piece. I think the Magnolia tree says "South" most for me, that and palm trees, and Live Oaks. The Crepe Myrtle is showy but be careful walking on flower-strewn sidewalks. Those flowers get slippery underfoot!

It feels like the entire planet is in crisis but nobody wants the pain that comes with making the major shift it will take to fix it. This summer's heat is no joke. We're in for a rough hurricane season, I think. Good to read your entries again.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ July 29, 2023

I agree that Southern magnolias (Magnolia grandiflora) and live oaks are the quintessential Southern trees, but the Crape Myrtle holds equally many memories and associations for me. I just love them!

Absolutely true! The planet is in crisis and humanity (most of it) is twiddling its thumbs while Rome burns all around them. Sad commentary on human civilization! Maybe the aliens and ETs will intervene with some unheard of technology that will suck out all the excess carbon dioxide in our grossly polluted atmosphere and spare our foolishly hubristic selves from extinction!?!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.