Updates on Various in These Foolish Things

  • July 24, 2023, 5:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mom Update: She’s out of the hospital, but needs to work on being mobile before she comes home, so she’s in a rehab facility working on her walking. My poor dad was getting so, so tired and he was stressed and worn out so we all begged him not to take the 1.5 hour drive out there and back with my brother (thank god my bro is still going out there every day) yesterday, but he’s doing it today. It breaks my heart that we are now at this stage where everything seems to be falling apart. I do hope both my mom and dad can get stable for a bit, but I’m just not sure right now. I will likely need to go visit again soon (maybe this weekend?) so that we can have a talk about how much help they need now and will need in the future.

Friends: Were your ears ringing? I bet they were because last Thursday evening, I got to have drinks and a little dinner with your favorite diarists, [Athena] and [designer]!! Aren’t I lucky?! I sure am! See, [Athena] was already planning on coming to visit. In fact, we had planned for her to come to my place on Wednesday, but I was still at the hospital with mom. So we ended up having her come on Thursday and [designer] happened to be in [my new city] for a long-term project. He was kind enough to meet us at my local dive bar. I know it wasn’t anything fancy at all, but it was so very nice to sit and catch up with those two and we talked about all of the diarists we knew from way back in the original OD days (1999) until present day. Always pretty hilarious to discover our mutual friends we’ve know on the diary and how many we’ve met in real life. It was my first time meeting [designer]. And I’m always blown away by how much the diaries have been such important parts of our lives! I know many of us might not write as much as we used to - I feel like I don’t - but I think getting our thoughts out and recording our days have been so therapeutic. Plus, I love reading about all of you as well.

More [Athena]: She stayed with me from Thursday until yesterday. I’m so grateful. In addition to our evening with [designer], our big highlights were seeing the Barbie movie (LOVED IT) and doing a river float down a super-duper insanely crowded and slow-moving river. On the one hand, it was miserable. On the other hand, it was comical. I think I’ve gotten all of the river tubing I will ever want to do out of my system now. But seriously, I’m beyond grateful that [Athena] was here for those days.

Alone: And now I’m here alone and quite lonely and still without a job.

Job: A couple of possibilities on the job front - I have a phone interview tomorrow with HR at a company I really, really, really like and it’s HERE. I’d like to knock this one out of the PARK and be able to speak with the hiring manager this week. I’m also being flown back to [my old city] for an in-person panel interview on Thursday. While it would be just fine to move back to [my old city] to be closer to Mom and Dad and lots of my friends, I’m really angling for the other job. We’ll see how this goes this week. Neither one is a shoo-in, but I’m so much further down the road with the in-person folks. Please send good ju-ju so I can get a job SOOOOOON!!

The Sailor: (my date from last week) says he wants to woo me. Remember the last time someone said they wanted to woo me? Yeah, they totally dropped the ball. This guy wants to woo, but our timing appears to be a challenge. I had to run to see mom in the hospital for a couple of days after our first date and then he ran off to D.C. and then Helsinki this week, so… let’s see if we can get on track in the coming weeks. Why do things take so much TIME?! Especially when I feel like the clock keeps ticking so loudly lately?

GS


CharminglyNeurotic July 24, 2023

What ever happened with the CEO of Cutie Pie co? No word? Has everything quieted down? How will you explain you don't have a reference from there -- or will you omit it from your resume or say it was a freelance gig?

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ July 24, 2023

Things are quiet. The advice from the lawyer was to lay low. I'm laying low. I am keeping the job on my resume for now - they won't check the place since it is my "current" job. I've already told them that the job is not a great fit and left it at that.

colder July 24, 2023

Ah man. I wish there was an OD/PB convention or something! Glad you’ve had some friend time and hope things with your mom and the work front stabilize soon. Best wishes on various 🙃

bobbi01 July 24, 2023

Yeah I feel like they shouldn't have to say they are going to woo. The woo should just happen. (to quote mean girls, we don't need a play by play). Glad your Mother is on the improve but it sure makes you revaluate things.

Complicated Disaster July 25, 2023

MASSIVE good luck with the job! I'll be rooting for you all the way!
I know how you feel with the dating timing though. Me and Crash can't find a weekend until September! I'm hoping to persuade her to do a weeknight once she's back from holiday. I don't think I can wait six weeks! xx

sudare July 25, 2023

I know we have a lot to share about the OD days! You must have had a great time!

wintergrey July 25, 2023

New reader here, wishing you good luck with the interviews!

Serin July 27, 2023

Glad your mom is progressing toward better. And yes, it's hard seeing family getting older.

sourapple July 27, 2023

Meeting OD friends in real life is THE BEST!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.