First Look in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 23, 2023, 12:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This was Friday evening. The floors are done. They caulked the baseboards yesterday and tomorrow they paint them. I finally got to see what it all will look like.

There is the minor detail of the toilet currently sitting in the new bathtub.

Back a number of years ago they replaced my toilet and when they did the new model had a much slimmer higher profile. There has to be a whole science of toilet size that changes. Because, you know, well fed Western humans are getting bigger. The area behind the original toilet had not been painted. So…when they replaced it there was this funky dark spot on the wall. Yesterday they caulked that spot as well and if the stars align, they will paint it as well as the baseboards.

We inch closer to re-inhabitation. Fingers crossed the transition will happen next Saturday. Kes wanted to know if she should get some sage so we could smudge the place. Besides the toilet, the other deal beaker is the water pressure in the kitchen sink, which is not robust enough for normal functioning. I could care less about the new dish washer. I am a wash as you go cook.

I am trying to figure out the best logistics to stress Carlo out the least. Of course, the good news is that he is not getting into a car. I will see if I can get the gabapentin down him in a pill pocket and his favorite food. The one time I tried before was not a complete success. I guess a quarter of the pill is better than none.

The other thing I need to work on this week is my irritability. After walking with Mrs. Sherlock yesterday she told me to stop worrying, I have plenty of support, it will all get done. In general, I see her point. Tell that to my nervous system. When your best friend is annoying you, that is something to look at.

My push-ups are getting better.

I have a bunion on my right foot. One started on my left but then I began practicing yoga and it slowed the process right down. The right one was already on its way. The shoes that I have been wearing, a canvas sneaker with arch support have been fine but all of a sudden in the last few months with the heat I have been getting blisters when I get to say anything more than a 3 ½ mile walk. This is also an irritability factor. New accommodating shoes need to be found. I wear the thinnest socks possible so there is no give there.

I will figure something out. It is the fact that I need to figure it out that is contributing to the overwhelm. And truly that is what is behind the irritability.

Overwhelm. I am so grateful for so many things. I could go on and on about that. It is not that I am feeling sorry for myself. I think it is a companionship thing.

Feeling that I have to figure out every darn thing myself. In some ways this is an extraordinary gift. I don’t have to negotiate with others more than I choose to. Maybe I will get an AI companion that will help me like a virtual personal assistant. But I think I would rather have a friend. Someone to talk things through with.

There has been a lot of talk in my circle lately about the changes the next ten years are going to bring in our personal circumstances as we age. As long in place as is possible. And this is on my mind.

Well, at least in the near term I will be aging in place with new spill resistant flooring. And hopefully a toilet that stays put.


Last updated July 23, 2023


Jinn July 23, 2023

It looks really good . Once you get back in I suspect you will feel less irritable and stressed. At least that is what I am hoping for you and Carlos .
Mrs Sherlock seems a bit crotchety . I think part of being a friend is to listen and support.

Deleted user July 23, 2023

It's lovely!

I had bunion surgery on my left foot in 2002. Mine are hereditary. My father used to say that even if he didn't know my mother better than that, he'd know all of us kids were his by our feet. I'm surprised they put him in the infantry with his. They were pretty severe.

mcbee July 25, 2023

Nice lighting in your old/new place! The floor looks great.
I agree, having a friend who will listen or help you troubleshoot life is such a great thing. I only have off and on friends who are sometimes around for support, sometimes not. My son gets the brunt of my worries and woes and I think he just tunes it out anyway!

Zipster July 25, 2023

Wow, the floor looks great, almost looks like you have a new slate! Are you going to rearrange anything? I think you are entitled to be a bit irritable what with all the changes, lack of communication and delays, I'd be irritable too.

noko Zipster ⋅ July 25, 2023

Thanks and yes to the rearranging. There was some talk about putting the bedroom back exactly to make Carlo feel more comfortable but I don’t think that would work as I already got rid of an old desk that was in there. I am going to take all the bedding we have been sleeping on over. He is so skittish and on high alert but he still trusts me at least.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.