3 Days ... in A Day in the Life of Me

  • July 21, 2023, 7:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

… of being the only support staff member on at work..
Older coworker was on 3 day vaca… (though i know she wasn’t exactly relaxing.. she was actually babysitting her grandkids…) I managed well enough.
There is a pile of stuff for her to sort when she gets back because I COULDN’T do it (only she has access), but I did manage to get ALOT of other stuff either done or minimized since younger co-workers untimely exit last week. Caught up on alot of the filing for the two lawyers she was the assistant for, as well as saving work for them on the programs we use, and opening files on said programs for new clients we retained this week..
We had half a dozen new Clint meetings this week, and they were allll the last 3 days.. so it has been extremely busy.
And managed to stay on top of my normal duties as well..

The plus side is I know my work has not gone unnoticed. Younger partner gave me a lift to D’s work tonight because the rain was a torrential downpour when we were getting ready to close up, and she said on the ride that I did amazing at helping everyone with everything I could and that everyone noticed and knew how hard I was working and that it was very appreciated.
Also, because I was the only support staff on, there really wasn’t anyone available to cover reception, so I took all my lunches at my desk, I was given the option of overtime pay, or an afternoon off with pay....and now I will get a free afternoon off of my choice in the future!

Obviously I’ll hold off until we have a new assistant hired. One of our newest lawyers will call him AW, did offer on Wednesday to listen out for the phone in the door if I did want to step away from my desk for my lunch break but I just told him it was fine that I would eat at my desk and keep on working, that it wasn’t the first time I had to do it in it probably wouldn’t be the last LOL. But I majorly appreciated it.

It’s a really nice feeling working somewhere where your efforts are noticed and appreciated.
They could have easily not said anything and just summed it up to the fact there was no coverage available.

Vacation is coming.. so hopefully they have selected and hired the new legal assistant before mid August so I have time to train them on reception.


Bomb Shell July 22, 2023

It’s nice that your extra work had been noticed and repaid. Enjoy your afternoon off!

Canadian Lass Bomb Shell ⋅ July 23, 2023

Yes it certainly is!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.