Food Poisoning in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 21, 2023, 4:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

No, not me, thank goodness. The young floor installer. They were supposed to be done yesterday but when I went over in the early evening nothing had been done. Just a sliver of the living area, where my stove and washer and dryer had been relocated. The same as the day before.

My ability to continue to be unsettled by all this surprises me. Unsettled I was though. Anyway, on my way to the garden this morning I looped around and ran into him getting something from his truck. This is where I got the over sharing on the food poisoning. Both he and the project manager say he will be done today.

The flooring is very high tech. Basically they took a picture of traditional wood flooring in a mid-color range and printed it onto this thin vinyl veneer. There is a pad, not much of one but pretty high tech as well. The new flooring will be significantly cooler than the loop carpet that was there before and easier to clean.

The painters are coming tomorrow, yes, Saturday to start caulking and painting the floorboards that are being installed today. They will finish on Monday. The dishwasher has been delayed until Tuesday. They did fix the locks, so that is a relief.

Fingers and toes crossed, Carlo and I will be moving out of here a week from tomorrow. The 30th. Making this whole ridiculous displacement extravaganza having lasted 15 weeks.

I am at the point now where I don’t feel like I can manage another delay.

I will of course. We humans are adaptive and resilient, but I am feeling pretty darn close to the end of whatever rope I started with.

One of my students was in a car accident and this was an extra worry. She is fine, shaken up, still in shock a bit, but it was scary. It is great that they are making cars safer these days. The young woman driving the car that caused the accident had no license or insurance and crossed the center line in a flash. She said she fell asleep.

My student said she had no time to react before they were hit. The airbags deployed. She had both her dogs in the car, but they were secured on leads. Her husband’s airbag scared the larger dog who was able to get out of his lead and her major concern was wangling the dog off the road. Her Apple Watch called emergency services just after the accident happened.

There are about 50 points where things could have been much worse and would have been had this been even 10 years ago. We had a very gentle class this morning. Simple coherent movements. With an emphasis on grounding and integration. And although she had a CT scan, no sudden movements of the head.

Mrs. Sherlock didn’t come to class this morning because a year after her bike accident she decided to go back to where it happened (with a different less energetic friend) and ride again. That took courage but she has never been a slacker in that department. We are walking tomorrow.

I am a little frustrated with her because she has decided not to modulate her activity levels after her doctor couldn’t find anything specific going on. A bike trip in September, a snowshoeing trip in January.

That is the thing about friends. We end up loving them as they are, faults, hubris, and all.

This afternoon I have some paperwork to do but I hope to have a low-key easy weekend full of justified anticipation that the end to this trial is near.

Pretty Queen Anne’s Lace umbral above from yesterday, waiting for the bus.


Last updated July 21, 2023


Deleted user July 22, 2023

Oh, I do hope the light at the end of this tunnel is closer than you think. Will you have to get area rugs?

mcbee July 22, 2023

It's gonna get there. Hold on.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.