RAD: The Sailor in These Foolish Things

  • July 20, 2023, 2:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

<–Mom update that way. Sneaking in this little RAD as I was able to somehow throw in a little date on Monday when I didn’t have much information about my mom yet…

Name: The Sailor

Introduction Platform: Bumble

Age: 58

Relationship Status: Divorced for nearly 10 years; two adult kids who live in [new city] and that’s why he lives here.

Job: I always seem to find people with very, VERY mysterious jobs. This guy has a company that works with post war-torn countries and tries to help them become stable entities. I don’t know if I said that correctly, but it was fascinating to listen to him describe what he could tell me.

Lives: A few miles north of [my new city]

Length of Date: 3 hours

We Did: Wine and pizza at a local wine bar

He Looked: Tall, salt-n-pepper hair and beard, nicely dressed in shorts and a short sleeved woven sport shirt. Attractive but not drop-dead.

I Looked: Summer sundress, still self-conscious of my recent few stress pounds, high-heeled sandals (I knew he was tall)

Convo: Lots and lots and lots. I’d just found out that mom was in the hospital and knew I was going to have to go out to see her the next day, so lots of convo around that. Lots of work chatter - fascinating on his side! Some talk about his sailboat (hence the name The Sailor)

High Point: He let me chatter, chatter, chatter (I was stressed and nervous because of mom) AND he took my hand while walking me to my car. Said he was happy that I am tall.

Low Point: This is going to sound awful and bratty (?)…but I’m kind of scared of sailboats and I pictured myself trying to be okay on his boat and getting seasick. Hahaha - isn’t that ridiculous?! First of all, we don’t even have a second date scheduled, and secondly, if a guy invites you to go on his SAILBOAT, you freaking GO, right?! I’m looking at you both, [designer] and [Elaine Benes] - maybe if this goes somewhere you can give me some pointers?

How It Ended: We finished a bottle of Domaine Carneros and a nice pizza and he held my hand while walking to the car…and then he gave me a couple little kisses. He said he wanted to see me again. It was niiiice.

Chances Are: He’s asked me out, but I haven’t answered him yet because I wasn’t sure about my schedule. He’s been texting me - in a good way. I like that. I think I like him. I def want to see him again.

Date Rating: A


bobbi01 July 20, 2023

It's been way too long between these. And an A? yes please!

Amaryllis July 20, 2023

I love this for you! You need some good! 🥰

Deleted user July 20, 2023

Sounds lovely!

Complicated Disaster July 21, 2023

Whooooooooop! Sounds good. And just because he has a boat didn't mean you are required to go on it! Xx

plushcreep July 22, 2023

Better a sailboat than a submersible!

Serin July 26, 2023

Sounds like a lovely time.

sourapple July 27, 2023

The end of this entry gave me all sorts of butterflies! His company sounds amazing. I would really like to work at a place that's so mission driven. I mean, I already do! But I hope my career continues to develop with impactful organizations. It makes pushing through the grind feel almost worth it. Almost ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.