In the night in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 19, 2023, 4:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m awake in the middle of the night a lot. I don’t mind. I nap in the daytime. I suppose it would be better to be awake in the daytime and asleep in the night but that would take more discipline than I seem to have.

I went to writers group yesterday. It’s at 10 am but I have to leave at 9 am to get there comfortably early. I overslept - it was after 9 when Jim came in and woke me up. I was only 15 minutes late but it put a different spin on the day. There were 12 people there, 3 men, more men than I think ever before. I had printed out an old story that I wrote for my old writer’s class and I read that. The topic was supposed to be personal crimes - stolen watermelons, adult library books taken out by pre-adults, someone who took back buggy flour to the grocery store, one man’s pickup lines, and my fictional girls playing jacks in Central Park who won a paper sack full of hundred dollar bills from two men and used the money to buy a new car. I seem only able to write fiction about cars. It’s a broad field though.

I had intended to write about John’s phone being stolen in London. It’s a good story and I would have written it here of course. But I didn’t do it. I haven’t done it. Yet. Of course. Jim talked to John a few days ago and he said the phone is now in Dubai. He’s able to track its location. It stays in one place for several days and then it moves but it stays in Dubai. He was able to get a new phone the same night he lost his old one. He got the same number and had his contacts restored but he didn’t get his photos back. What a brave new world we live in. Small and intricate and polished like a diamond.

Today I have agreed to visit my sisterinlaw at 1 pm. I hope I don’t oversleep for that engagement. She contacted me through Facebook -=I wrote this before. She’s written her life story and she has a copy for me. I wrote that before too. I haven’t seen her new house since it’s been completed and I look forward to that as well. My sisterinlaw is a unique person. I wonder if we could become friends in old age. I don’t suppose. I have no gift for friendship. But I will go see her tomorrow. She says we can have coffee.

One picture.

The closest I came to the ocean on my trip. A branch of Galway Bay that came into the Lisconnor. Katie and I had gone for an early morning walk and found 4 dogs, 1 snail, 1 pony and countless seagulls. Katie heard a cat.


Jinn July 19, 2023

I stay up most nights too. I get the urge to do household things; laundry, water my plants, chop food for the turtle, clean out water bowls, clean the cat box . Why I do not do those things earlier ; I have no idea.

NorthernSeeker July 21, 2023

I imagine the topic was really "personal crimes that are forgivable". Did anyone confess anything that shows them in a bad light?

noko July 23, 2023

I think it is okay being up in the middle of the night. As long as we are okay with it.

A Pedestrian Wandering July 24, 2023

I find my night-time sleep getting shorter and LOVE naps. I hope your sisterinlaw visit goes well enough that friendship is possible.

ConnieK July 24, 2023

Sorry to hear about John's phone. Losing photos is heartbreaking. I like keeping them in other places, too: here, Facebook, Imgur, etc. I'm not close to my SILs on my side of the family.

Serin August 24, 2023

Are you curious about the sister-in-law's life story? My uncle published his autobiography but was surprised we weren't jumping to pay over 50 dollars per volume to read it.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ August 26, 2023 (edited August 26, 2023)

Edited

Ah... My sisterinlaw GAVE me a copy. I was a bit touched. Perhaps the most interesting part was her own kids' reactions to her home/family in Austria.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.