A Glimpse - My Happy Place in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 17, 2023, 12:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here is my happy place soon after sunrise yesterday morning. I had already cut some sweet pea flowers to bring home from the community garden plot before I took this shot.

It went on to be the 2nd hottest day of the year here but we’re not under a heat dome and it is cooling off at night. That means the early morning hours are a precious and delicious time to be out and about.

I started a week ago Sunday, organizing and packing up my stuff. I spent between two to three focused hours a day doing this all week until Friday afternoon when I ran out of boxes. I unplugged everything, moved all the furniture away from the walls, emptied drawers and shelves and everything on the floor of all the closets and the laundry area.

The boxes were staged in the middle of the bedroom and living area with a path through as I wasn’t sure if they were bringing in the new dishwasher last week or not. Mrs. Sherlock put together and filled the last of the boxes on Friday morning. I have absolutely no idea what is in the boxes she packed. It is going to be like a school carnival grab bag emptying them on the other side.

Kes and Most Honorable came up yesterday with more clean new boxes and tape and tools and a hand truck. Kes was most helpful in going through and breaking down the big pile of empty boxes for small appliances, kitchen stuff, and electronics I had kept all these years.

Most Honorable was master of the hand truck. It was unbelievably useful. Such a simple device. The workstation was pretty easy to take apart as we only separated it into two pieces and were able to get it through the three doors into the storage room.

Thank goodness there were no stairs. Once the stuff is back in the apartment after the new floors are in, I think this may be the last time in my life I will move without hiring people to help. We did it in four hours with a lunch break.

But we did it! The only things left on the floors are the appliances and the cable lines.

They have electronics recycling down where Kes and Most Honorable live, so they took all the old monitors, including Mr. Finch’s last one. (We repurposed his laptop a long time ago.) They even took my last television. A small one I got at Sears on my birthday about 20 years ago. I used to watch Charlie Rose on it.

And Most Honorable and I moved out an old wooden two drawer desk that they had given me soon after I moved in as I didn’t have a desk or the workstation back then. I live a pretty simple life. But one sure picks up things along the way.

Anyway, we carried the desk halfway around the block to get it into their car to avoid stairs with an L. I couldn’t have done that without the strength training I have been doing lately, modest as it is.

One of my fellow Open Road board members asked me for a poem to add to this month’s Mindfulness and Meditation newsletter (we call them dialogues) on Monday and she wanted it in two days. I just happened to pick up a pile of poems I had written and printed out the next day and there on top of the pile on the floor was a poem from 2008 about the joys of being exactly where we are and how where we are is much like a garden. Way before I had a garden.

I rewrote it quickly the next morning and sent it off. Walt is in Lebanon this week and they showed the play in prison movie outside night before last and he sent us a picture. He’ll get the newsletter posted when he gets back a week from tomorrow.

It was nice to be able to contribute something in the midst of all this upheaval.


Deleted user July 17, 2023

And a lovely happy place it is!

mcbee July 19, 2023

I am lookin forward to hearing all about the move back in and how it feels to have your space refurbished and organized. I am really glad the end of this stressful way of life is on the horizon!

Zipster July 20, 2023

Your garden is lovely and colorful. How nice that you had so many helpers, no doubt it made the process go faster. Ah, you were always meant to have a garden!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.