Social Media drama. Or: Be glad that Josh is such a benevolent admin. (With other minor news, pictures, and cat tax.) in The Big, Blue, House. Year two.

  • July 17, 2023, 12:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I apologize, I’ve spent most of my internet time over the last two weeks or so at squabbles.io Until yesterday, when I basically rage quit, as they say in MMOs.

The super short version is that the site’s creator, and so far as I know sole site - wide admin, posts directly to the front page every other day or so, with some new change he’s making in response to some angry user’s ranting post.

He’s added several new features, added a blocked list, taken away and wiped the blocked lists, added a mute option, made a new and improved blocked list, made people mods, made the statement that he thinks conversation should “be spicier” in reference to letting homophobes speak, (thus upsetting a lot of the freshly minted mods so that they left, leaving numerous subs un-modded), asked on the front page for SEO help from users, (so professional), and yesterday, he posted this sticky announcement:

alt text

What I said:

alt text

The top comment, which is reflective of 95% of the comments:

alt text

Actually, here’s a link. I don’t know why I bothered to fuzz out his name:
https://squabbles.io/u/jayclees/post/eWoeE2gozP

That post is his reaction to a post an ex-user made on Reddit, denouncing the site. The guy was an obvious troll, mad for the sheer sake of being mad. Hating on Squabbles for being too friendly for cripes sake.

And the site’s creator took the angry troll to heart, and turned on his own fricking users.

Honestly, at this point I think Jayclees is probably a teenager. Either that or he has neurological issues. And I’m not trying to be insulting. I just can’t see any reasonable person doing what he’s doing. I imagine him as some talented coder fresh out of, or possibly still in, high school.

Regardless, if something doesn’t change, he’s going to sink his own ship. So I’m out. The overwhelming majority of people agree with my perspective, but they all seem to think that it will all be okay, as long as he doesn’t take the site down. That the community itself decides the atmosphere, regardless of the immaturity of the lone developer.

I dunno. Maybe it’s my borderline tendencies. But when I see a sinking ship, I get out. I’m not waiting around and suffering through more drama, continuing to be emotionally attached to a community that might, at any moment, cease to exist.

I keep checking back, hoping he’ll walk back this stupidity, like he’s walked back other things. We’ll see.

~~•~~*~~~*~~~*~~•~~

In unrelated news, my autographed picture of Joe Bob Briggs came, and Fed Ex fricking tore it! Now I have to buy another one! Color me p!ssed.

Yes, I realize he’s conservative. He reminds me of the people my Dad hung out with, plus I watched Monstervision religiously. So the nostalgia outweighs the political principles in this niche case. My Dad modeled himself after John Wayne. He even died the same way.

And I got this neat candle from QVC. I usually buy Goose Creek. They have a stronger scent than Yankee, and 5.99 shipping up to $100, with free shipping after that. I generally get three or four at a time, to be economical. But this thing has sold me on HomeWorx brand. It smells like the coffee and candy section of the mall. That melange of expensive coffees, confections, and colognes. And it was on clearance.

alt text

And I got some Camay soap, and a can of British style beans. So now we can bathe like it’s 1979, and decide for ourselves whether beans on toast is a terrible as it sounds.

alt text

Cat Tax. Elizabeth being decorative.

alt text


Jodie July 17, 2023

So far I really like this site and how Josh is always trying to make this site better and he has never said he can't do this or that because there isn't enough money. I was on Open diary and if you paid ypu got a tiny bit better support but not much and when they froce you to leave they don't even allow you to defend yourself. And whenI wanted my money back they wouldn't give it to me so my bank took it from them.

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ July 17, 2023

That's terrible! I'm guessing Open Diary is a wasteland now. Why pay for something you can get for free? And $3.99 to recover your own data!

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ July 17, 2023

well. they wouldn't even let me down load all of my entries and there was like 20 years worth.... But stupid me paied for a year and in Canadan dollars. Rip off.

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ July 17, 2023

I'd be fuming.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ July 17, 2023

I was. And I reported them to the BBB

Forest Firefly July 17, 2023

Wait, where did you get those beans from? I read that as you getting them from QVC. My brain must just be tired.

That sucks about squabbles.. you find a community and it sinks. Hope he changes things back. I’m so sick of the bigots being accepted in so many spaces these days.

Asenath Waite Forest Firefly ⋅ July 17, 2023

The beans came from Target. 😄

Right? The whole paradox of tolerance. You can't give equal footing to hate, or it will invariably take over. For a social media site, it's like encouraging necrosis. Don't amputate that gangrenous toe, it might have a valid opinion!

Sleepy-Eyed John August 04, 2023

I see your point, sorta. I'm all for dissenting opinions but people on internet take it to extremes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.