Why am I like this? *edit* in Journey Back to ME

  • July 11, 2023, 7:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

PROCRASTINATION at its finest. It’s that time of year when I start getting the reminder that my daughter’s tuition is about to come out of my bank account, and the reminder that I received was for the FULL AMOUNT. It didn’t factor in her 2 major scholarships. I woke up this morning and logged right in online to get to the bottom of things and realized that I had YET to officially accept her financial aid awards. Both of these things should have been done MONTHS ago, but I think I have an issue with focusing on the details (only in instances where it’s an information overload because when it is trivial and unimportant then I remember them all) because I was only seeing the AWARD letters and the amounts and not the part where you actually have to CLICK HERE and accept the awards. This is not the first time this has happened, but now I have to get on the phone and call PEOPLE and talk to PEOPLE to make sure that my ducks are in a row because I cannot let this FULL TUITION amount escape my bank account. Haha. I need to make sure that I do not do this again next year. It’s like..months in advance I cannot be bothered to think about the upcoming school year. I just want to enjoy my Summer, and then when the tuition reminder comes through, I get SNAPPED back into reality. I hope this is just a simple phone call and a short apology and that I don’t have to jump through major hoops. I’m not making excuses, and I accept FULL RESPONSIBILITY! But now I have to clean up this mess!

In other news, my sons daycare provider is gone to Miami for the week with her mother. This means that my son and I (he’s 4) get to spend the entire week together. My daughter has Lego Master Builder Camp from 9-11 this week and then her afternoon activity camp from 12-5. My son is so level headed, independent, and mellow when his sister is not around. She gets him riled up, and they just fight back and forth and tattle on each other really. A lot of yelling and whining and playing and laughing. It’s nice when I get the opportunity to spend time with him 1-on-1. Yesterday he and I ventured to our local PBS TV station where they have a PBS Kids Childrens STEM Discover Center. The best part is that it’s free! This was our first visit and I was blown away at the activities they had inside. My favorite was the area with a green screen where you can create your own video. My son grabbed an Elmo puppet and said “I’m Elmo”. I recorded it on my phone and on the provided Ipad. I was able to airdrop the video to myself (the Ipad video got rid of the green background of course). They also had a Weather station where the weather data is being provided from right outside. There’s a news desk, a microphone and a script for you to report the weather (this can also be recorded). There’s a craft area, an area with lots of toys. My sons favorite was the grocery store setup with a moving conveyor belt, an apron and nametag, shopping bag, food supplies, and the scanner even scans! There’s also working cash register which he loved to work with the most. There’s a construction area equipped with hard hats and utility vests and a tool box with tools....there’s just so much and the spirit of PBS Kids is everywhere. Lots of Sesame Street, Daniel Tiger and so much more. He LOVED it. I told him that I would take him back this week, and he hasn’t stopped talking about it yet. He’s also now been talking about going to a “Nickelodeon place”. I think he thinks there’s a play center for every channel now! Haha.

Afterward, I treated him to lunch of his choice and he chose Sam’s Club for pizza! Then we headed back home to rest for a few hours (he watched PBS Kids) until it was time to pick up my daughter. After she got out of camp, we went to DQ for ice cream. I tried the new Blizzard of the Month which was Cake Batter Cookie Dough. I was worried that I wouldn’t like the cookie dough, but I love Cake Batter/Funfetti anything. The cookie dough was sugar cookie and not chocolate chip (Thank goodness), and it really was good. I got the smallest size, but it was definitely filling and enough. It melted pretty quickly in the heat, but it was nice. I give it a 10/10. No compaints!

I have to go and wake the children (my least favorite thing to do). Send me positive thoughts on this financial aide situation. I am considering going inside when I drop my daughter off for camp and speaking to someone directly. That way, I don’t have to wait for emails and phone calls back. That’s the adult thing to do, but as someone who has anxiety in these situations, I might start with a phone call this morning, and if I cannot get through, I can go in after I go to pick my daughter up at 11.

----edit----

I called about 10 minutes ago on a whim! The person I needed to speak with answered and updated the account all while I was on the phone. She assured me that the other scholarship had already been applied to the account.

Whew!

And can I just complain for a moment about the $100 school supply fee?


Last updated July 11, 2023


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.