Progress, Not Perfection in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 7, 2023, 1:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s my meadow from yesterday. It is so cheerful.

For my own mental health, it helps me to say that none of the repairs that were done on Fred, my apartment, were due to anything I initiated or caused. This is not a voluntary remodel. This was not a choice I made. It helps explain why this displacement has been so challenging.

Well, that and the horrid way communication has been handled.

It, like so many things, dropped into my life unexpectedly.

I don’t feel like a victim, it is what it is. The daily acceptance of the vicissitudes has been the challenge. Some days I do better than others. Yesterday was one of those better days.

They took the plastic sheeting down! It was a corridor from the front door to the kitchen and they covered the rug in brown paper that eventually got ripped in places. The paper, not the rug. To get to any of my stuff I had to go through the sticky zippered flaps in the sheeting.

The kitchen sink is in. The counters are done with a new surface. (I do like it better than the old surface but as I have no idea what the flooring will look like…) The stove and refrigerator (still filthy) have been reconnected. Today they reconnect the dishwasher. The shower curtain rod is back up. And all the construction stuff is gone.

Tomorrow, the plan is to have the cleaners in. I don’t have confirmation on that.

Of course, I don’t.

On Sunday I hope to start moving stuff out of the living area into the storage room. I am also going to bring all of my clothes that are on hangers over here and start washing them. That will get them out of the bedroom, which they are going to put the flooring in last. With new baseboards that will need to be painted after they are installed.

This morning, for the first time since the displacement, my internet went out just as I was starting class. This is the cellular internet that has worked well until now. It was a bit stressful. I think two factor authentication is an excellent security measure except when you are using your phone as a laptop camera and your cat thinks this is a good time to crawl all over your laptop while you are rebooting it next to the device you have in another room than you teach in that controls the internet.

Everyone was worried because they didn’t realize I was using my phone and couldn’t pick up when they were trying to text and call and find out if I was okay. Another technical challenge to figure out in the great world of the future.

Oh well. I went to the grocery yesterday after the in-person coffee date with the guys so that it taken care of.

We were all over the map and having side discussions that Walt would have discouraged but amazingly all the regulars were there without him. One of the guys lost his sweet bear of a Newfoundland to cancer. One of the guys was just back from three weeks in Japan. One of the guys has a photo show coming up. We talked about flying cars and Native rights and a very delicate and tentative discussion about all the attention trans rights are getting. A number of parents with trans kids are moving here because of the restrictive laws elsewhere.

And then later I talked to my yoga teacher’s group. Our facilitator had recently recorded an interview with a guy that says he has regular telepathic conversations with Archangel Gabriel. Whoa baby. We talked a lot about all this new language of transformation people are using. And a bunch of other things. Including the fact that one of the women on the call who has RA was able to get down to the floor and back up for the first time in 2 years.

It got up to 85˚ in here yesterday. Have I mentioned how much I am looking forward to getting back to Fred where it is significantly cooler? Today, thankfully it is overcast, and I have been able to turn the fan off for a spell.

It’s the simple things that matter.


Last updated July 07, 2023


Jinn July 07, 2023

It surely is .
Telepathic conversations with the Archangel Gabriel ? Makes my head swim. 😆
I hope you are back to Fred asap !

Zipster July 10, 2023

I am writing this on Sunday and hoping you are taking up residence in your very own apartment. I hope the flooring is also something you like. Once you are settled again, you can be more present in all the other interesting things filling your life these days.

noko Zipster ⋅ July 10, 2023

Thanks for the good wishes. The flooring isn't going in until next week. I am looking at maybe moving back on the 26th if all the things that need to happen before then happen. Right now I am moving all my books into a storage room. I have miles to go before I get settled but I do know it will happen. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.