Onset of Summer in Trichotomy

  • July 4, 2023, 10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Passing the Baton

Our amateur music group had the last recital of the season and a board meeting last week. ENT pianist is hoping to delegate more responsibility to others from next season on, so he created a set of roles and asked for people to volunteer to do them. I am already the tech person, but starting next season I’ll be running the regular recitals too. Which is not a big stretch for me since I’m already maintaining the ENT-bot. There’s a lot of other programs that need attention (the education program, the outreach program, social program, and orchestra program), none of which have been run continuously, so the recital organiser gig is easily the simplest of them all.

I’m hoping to automate most of it, actually, so it can be run by NDS-bot.

  • S

Meet the family

Cheesedog visited last weekend for a conference, and his boyfriend of ~3 years came along. We met up for dinner at our go-to place at Times Square (Carmines, which was introduced to us by La Professeure’s family friend who officiated our wedding) since they were visiting Times Square. I had forgotten how large the portions are - it’s a family-style restaurant so the meals are supposed to be shared, but between the four of us we couldn’t finish two dishes.

We hung out around Times Square a little later and showed them the tkts booth. Not sure if they ended up catching a show.

We like the boyfriend; he seems nice, but more importantly, cheesedog seems happy around him.

  • N

When it rains

The next week, just before the July 4th holiday, our cousin visited with his family. I haven’t been back to California since before the pandemic so it’s nice to see them. On Thursday we went to the Statue of Liberty and then New Hip Company’s office, and then the High Line. But it was a hazy day (blame Canadian wildfire) so I was glad we limited our outdoors time. I think they liked the highline the most, since it was in the shades and something novel.

The next day they came to Long Island to visit with the student access service officer at La Professeure’s workplace and then visited our home. I hadn’t been to La Professeure’s university often, so it was a tour for me as well. I gather their visit was helpful. I think the parents were more interested in Swiss than the children - it’s more difficult for kids on the spectrum to keep attention (so youtube was very well-created in this regard), however, when you do have their attention, they are sweet.

I doubt they would want to come to Long Island for university, but at least the visit gives them a reference point to know what to expect.

  • D


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.