Intoxicated in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 4, 2023, 3:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The gladiolas aren’t quite out yet, but this is a picture from a previous 4th of July. I am kind of over hydrangeas and lilies and in the mood for something singular.

I finally have dates. They are most likely tentative, but they are a target, and they mean that this displacement has an end. The new flooring is going in July 17th through the 19th. They are doing all the floors. Kitchen, bathroom, living area, bedroom, and the closets. My guess is that the flooring guys will actually get it done during that time frame.

Theoretically the last inspection is tomorrow and then the counter tops go on and the kitchen sink goes in and then the professional cleaners come in. So maybe by next Sunday they will take down the plastic tunnel from the front door to the kitchen.

Then the real work begins for me. I am not the same person that moved in 14 years ago. I was working (in the old building), Mr. Finch was alive, everything that held importance revolved around poetry and my straightforward in person class going yoga practice. Stella and Sammy were alive, and I wasn’t even entertaining the idea of becoming a teacher.

Things changed pretty fast after that.

Now, now I get to decide who I am and what I want to make of my living space with the obvious restraints of finances, time, and motivation.

It is hot here, quite unusual for the holiday. The Blues Festival is going on loudly down at the riverfront and later there will be a solid hour of public fireworks from 10 to 11 PM. Oh joy. I only have one class to teach tomorrow morning so if I need to take a nap after I can. Still, I will be glad to have gotten through all that.

The Blues Festival headliner is Buddy Guy who is now 86. I remember seeing him in a club type space with a big dance floor when I was a teenager.

The mist trees and the mimosas are blooming. The hydrangeas are in full swing. There is that 4th of July holiday vibe out there. And I am hanging out. Reading, listening to podcasts, and resting. On top of my two classes yesterday I took a class that was good but stretched me ever so slightly past my comfort zone. A class that would have been fairly easy for me 14 years ago.

At some point I will take my recycling over to Fred for pickup next week that happens over there. Ridwell has expanded what they pickup regularly now and that means a bit of extra thought and sorting.

Thought and sorting (and repositioning) are going to be the themes this month.

In the meantime, I am thrilled to have dates. The heady intoxication of being able to plan!


Jinn July 04, 2023

The resolution is in sight ! How wonderful !

Deleted user July 05, 2023

Pictures when it happens, pretty please!

mcbee July 07, 2023 (edited July 07, 2023)

Edited

Most definitely pictures! I hope you will feel it was all worth it by the end of the month.
I also remember Buddy Guy. My boyfriend and I, in the late 70's, went to a lot of blues or jazz festivals and saw a lot of the old greats.
Life seems to be about reinventing ourselves as these big changes happen. You have done it well.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.