Five (Plus) Songs Whenever: Patrotism? Don't know her. in Those Public Entries

  • July 4, 2023, 11:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As this post I shared on Facebook says:

So with that in mind, here’s what I’m calling the “Fuck This Shithole Country” Fourth of July playlist. (If you’re offended by that? Cry harder. I’ve just about McFuckin’ had it with living in a Vanilla ISIS wet dream.)

“Samson and Delilah” - Shirley Manson and Bear McCreary


If I had my way
I’d burn this whole building down

“The Internationale” - Billy Bragg


Freedom is merely privilege extended
Unless enjoyed by one and all

//readies the Harley Quinn-style hammer// D’ya get it?!

“Nazi Punks Fuck Off” - Dead Kennedys


The real Nazis run your schools
They’re coaches, businessmen and cops
In a real fourth Reich you’ll be the first to go

“The Revolution Will Not Be Televised” - Gil Scott-Heron


The revolution will not give your mouth sex appeal
The revolution will not get rid of the nubs
The revolution will not make you look five pounds thinner
Because the revolution will not be televised, brother

“Youth Against Fascism” - Sonic Youth


Black robe and swill
I believe Anita Hill
Judge will rot in hell
It’s the song I hate, it’s the song I hate

“Transgender Dysphoria Blues” - Against Me!


You want them to notice
The ragged ends of your summer dress
You want them to see you
Like they see every other girl
They just see a f-----
They hold their breath not to catch the sick

“Fuck You” - Lily Allen


Do you get, do you get a little kick out of being small-minded?
You want to be like your father, it’s approval you’re after
Well, that’s not how you find it
Do you, do you really enjoy living a life that’s so hateful?
‘Cause there’s a hole where your soul should be
You’re losing control a bit, and it’s really distasteful

Quick note about this one: I remember Cracked dragging this song back in the day, because Lily Allen compared homophobia to racism. Which, like… No, they’re not the same thing, but personally, I’ve never met someone who was homophobic or transphobic and also not, on some level, pretty fuckin’ racist. …That said, if I’d wrote this song, I’d have used “fascist” instead of “racist”.

“Mississippi Goddam” - Nina Simone


They try to say it’s a communist plot
All I want is equality
For my sister, my brother, my people, and me
Yes you lied to me all these years
You told me to wash and clean my ears
And talk real fine just like a lady
And you’d stop calling me Sister Sadie
Oh but this whole country is full of lies
You’re all gonna die and die like flies
I don’t trust you any more


If you’re as full of piss and vinegar towards this country as I am, feel free to leave some recommendations.


Last updated July 09, 2023


SemiCharmed July 04, 2023

No Bad Religion?!

Pretend Mulling SemiCharmed ⋅ July 05, 2023

I'm not real familiar with their stuff.

SemiCharmed Pretend Mulling ⋅ July 05, 2023

American Jesus is a good one.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.