Jimmy Buffett's about ten years older than I am in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 3, 2023, 8:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

No he’s not. The video of A Pirate Looks at Forty says it was made in 1975 when I was 29. But he was born the same year as I was - in December and me in June. In other words he was looking at 40 from 29 not 39. I love the song but I feel a little cheated.

I remember being 29 in 1975 - that was one of the years of my life I can isolate and remember alot of. I had been married ten years and had two kids - ages 8 and 5. 1975 was the year we moved home from Cedar Rapids. It was the year I though my life was ending, and I hadn’t thought I had much life to end. It’s just that it seemed like any opportunities I had were not here. I wonder what another ten years in Cedar Rapids would have looked like.

We had 1.17 acres, a well and septic tank within 10 miles of Cedar Rapids on a high point with a view. My dad had helped finance it and we were vaguely going to build a house. The 10 year old - same age as my marriage - trailer was ...... well it was what it was. Since I have my phone I could take some pictures of pictures of the trailer and the place it was and post them here. Sure, I could do that. And maybe I will.

We were on the edge of selling it and buying an extremely modest house in the city. Commutes for jobs and schools were killing us. But nothing happened. Well maybe too much happened. My fatherinlaw died and my brother offered us this place. Nothing is that simple. But in a sense it was. We moved. And Jimmy Buffett’s pirate looks at 40.

Mother, mother ocean, I have heard you call
Wanted to sail upon your waters since I was three feet tall
You’ve seen it all, you’ve seen it all
Watched the men who rode you, switch from sails to steam
And in your belly, you hold the treasures few have ever seen
Most of ‘em dream, most of ‘em dream
Yes, I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don’t thunder, there’s nothin’ to plunder
I’m an over-forty victim of fate
Arriving too late, arriving too late
I’ve done a bit of smugglin’, and I’ve run my share of grass
I made enough money to buy Miami, but I pissed it away so fast
Never meant to last, never meant to last
And I have been drunk now for over two weeks
I passed out and I rallied and I sprung a few leaks
But I got to stop wishin’, got to go fishin’
Down to rock bottom again
Just a few friends, just a few friends
I go for younger women, lived with several a while
Though I ran ‘em away, they’d come back one day
Still could manage to smile
Just takes a while, just takes a while
Mother, mother ocean, after all the years I’ve found
My occupational hazard being my occupation’s just not around
I feel like I’ve drowned, gonna head uptown
I feel like I’ve drowned, gonna head uptown

This article came in my most recent New Yorker.

https://www.propublica.org/article/penis-enlargement-enhancement-procedures-implants

So anyway. It’s all made me feel kind of lonesome for a penis.

Thus is life.


Pretty day here. Yesterday Jim and went to LaCrosse and had breakfast at a table outside of Fayze’s. Two tables down with their people, were a pair of Cavalier King Charles spaniels - a red and white male named Winston and a black and white female named Belle. Super friendly sweet little dogs.

This is not a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel but I assume it was a well loved doggie.

Here is a King Charlie dog.

https://www.yourpurebredpuppy.com/reviews/cavalierkingcharlesspaniels.html


Last updated July 03, 2023


noko July 03, 2023 (edited July 03, 2023)

Edited

What a full rich creative post. I remember 1975 because it is the year I got married and we opened the bookstore in Seattle. I am sorry Mr. Buffet cheated you but based on the song it sounds like he was in the habit of doing that with women. I am having trouble getting over the diary RFK Jr. kept of the 16 women he slept with after having six kids with his wife. He was born the same year as me.

woman in the moon noko ⋅ July 03, 2023

OMG what/$%&(*%# does it take to run for President anymore? I saw his arms - he's got something going on there as well.

NorthernSeeker July 03, 2023

I like the lyrics to the song. They belong to someone who has made his choices and is not asking to be saved. The state of the nation speech about a derelict nation.

Jinn July 06, 2023

Jimmy Buffet is my favorite kind of pirate . He is an ode to the Salt Life. I loved Florida when I was a kid and I love it still. When Frank got his degree I wanted us to
move there but he could not leave his Mom. I said to take her with us ,,but she would not leave my two evil SILs, and so we stayed. Neither of us happy in this state but it’s what we know. She lived a long time after those days. She was an adoring Mom to Frank and I get why he could not leave her but it sure impacted our lives. Now I am anxious about moving to a little Podunky town fifty miles away . Life is strange .

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ July 06, 2023

Oh I had to move back here because my husband could not leave his mother too. Wow. I knew you were moving but didn't know where. I must have missed reading when you wrote about it. You sound happy about the move? It's nice to have a fresh start in life. I wish you well.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ July 06, 2023

I have mixed feelings about the move. It’s a tiny town versus living on the outskirts of a city. The house in Clinton is currently a dump. My brother is a pain in the butt ( he will live in an apartment upstairs with his GF and her son. ). I am losing my garden and the lake .My son will not want to live with us and that makes me sad but his job is here .
The plus side is that it’s a little town I am semi familiar with and I have relatives there . The house will cut our monthly expenses by half and Frank will eventually be able to comfortably retire. After we sell our house we should be able to fix the house up to be nice but it will never be as nice as the house I have here - that I never appreciated as I should have . Some lessons you learn too late. Or at least I have .

Serin July 13, 2023

Your 29 seems like it was much busier than mine.

ConnieK July 24, 2023

I'm a huge Buffet fan. That's sort of the vibe in our city.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.