I know you've been wanting to see pictures in These titles mean nothing.

  • June 30, 2023, 4:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

and here are four of the five thousand I have all gummed up somewhere.

Cliffs of Moher on the westest coast of Ireland

A Renoir at the National Gallery in London

Two rather odd views from in front of Buckingham Palace in London

How those photos got here I have no idea.

My husband’s aunt won a trip to Europe for selling World Book encyclopedias in the mid 1960s. She came home with some photos and had no idea where any of them had been taken. I feel way too much like Aunt Loretta.

btw - what I did was sign out of Imgur and then try to make another account - new name password and email address. So.... I got in and there were all my pictures from my previous account.

Just call me Loretta.

They are nice clear pictures though. Probably better than Loretta’s.


Last updated June 30, 2023


NorthernSeeker June 30, 2023

The Cliffs of Moher are magical...the perfect setting for a murder mystery. I love Renoir...beautiful. The subject looks like she is wearing winter clothing. The black iron fences with gold accents are like the gates to the Lieutenant Governor's mansion in Victoria. I'm so glad you got access to these...I look forward to seeing more of them.

Just Annie July 01, 2023

Nice photos!

Purple Dawn July 01, 2023

Your pictures are great. I think Ireland would be very charming to see...I don't know if I could go with my kids, the trips to Mexico or such are fine with them one at a time and they are just short vacations...and I can hide from them...
I think I'd like to go with my nephews :)
Thank you for sharing.

noko July 01, 2023

That first picture is gorgeous.

A Pedestrian Wandering July 02, 2023

Lovely photos! I must admit, if i were going to throw myself off some cliffs, those would be serious contenders.

Neogy Titwhistle July 02, 2023

Mom came back from her Europe trip with over 700 pictures. And no clue what most of them were taken of! I still have them on a CD, somewhere.

woman in the moon Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ July 02, 2023

Stuff happens.

Jinn July 06, 2023

In Springfield many years ago there used to be a grand hotel called “ The Leyland Hotel” ; very fancy and the nicest place to stay in this area . It was built between 1864 and 1867 at a cost of $320,000 then . The first “ horseshoe “ was served there in 1928 . But I digress . 😂. In the lobby of the Leland there was a huge painting . It was auctioned off and an elderly woman bought it from the ornate frame as she did not much like the painting . She stuck it in her garage . One Saturday morning , years ago , F. and I were trolling garage sales and she was cleaning out her garage. She sold the painting to me for $10.00 . I love it . It takes up half of one wall in our livingroom. I thought it was odd but strangely beautiful as well. One day looking at travel pictures I realized the painting is of “ The Cliffs of Mohr “ painted to depict a misty day or maybe at dawn. I think it’s really well done and it’s an actual painting, not a print . I will keep it all my life . I would love to see them in person someday .

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ July 06, 2023

That's a wonderful story. It makes me happy to think of the Cliffs of Moher in your living room. Fascinating that the hotel in your city chose the painting too.
There was a hotel in Liscannor where we stayed called The Cliffs of Moher. We didn't find it till we were ready to leave. We had a really nice breakfast the last day we were there. No pictures of US Midwest towns, but it was dedicated to Irish writers.... lots of portraits and lots of books too. I recognizes Beckett = who has a quite distinctive appearance and a fellow diner was surprised that I knew him.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ July 06, 2023

I do not know why they would have had that painting in their lobby . As far as I know the owners were not Irish. It’s a mystery . Not what you would expect to see in a lobby of a hotel in the Midwest . :-) People are always a mystery .

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ July 06, 2023

Moher is hard/impossible to spell. I have to look it up every time I want to try to spell it. Interesting I wonder if it relates to the surname Moore? I should have asked.

Jinn July 06, 2023

Nice pictures !!

DavidParker July 07, 2023 (edited July 16, 2023)

Edited

I agree, these are great photos. It fascinates and inspires me. Viewing such photos is pleasing to the eye. Also the other day I was really hooked on flagstaff images I admit, my joy knew no bounds when I joined this marketplace, because there are so many cool pictures, videos and music files. Now this is my inspiration. Moreover, they really help me a lot in the implementation of my most daring ideas.

Serin July 11, 2023

The pictures are still magical, even if you're not sure exactly where they're from.

Serin July 11, 2023

In general, I mean. You have labels on these, which narrows them down.

ConnieK July 24, 2023

Oh, fun! I envy you your London Museum time. Nice.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.