What Happens Next in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 29, 2023, 9:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not that much going on. It has been hot but not too hot, and dry. At Fred, my home apartment the kitchen cabinets are in and the framing for the counters is on.

The place is even more of a mess than before. The toilet is gross. I am glad I don’t have to use it. They also finally put the shelving in the shower area. And I am thrilled that they sealed the connection between the tub and the shower nicely. That part is an upgrade.

The flooring people have been in to take a look and I will be able to use the storage area for as much of my stuff as I can move over there when the time comes.

Of course, the last estimate I got on time was that the contractors would be done tomorrow. The kitchen sink and disposal are still in the storage room and call me crazy, but I don’t think they are going to get the kitchen counters covered and a hole for the sink made and the sink itself installed in one day.

Considering that they have been working on it all for eleven weeks by now.

Then apparently there is another permit needed. At this point I think my place should be formally designated as government office with all the darn permits that have been issued on these repairs. Who knew?

Much to my astonishment, the sweet peas I grew from seed are thriving and starting to flower. This morning I took a trellis down to the garden I ordered and assembled with Carlo’s assistance yesterday. The bamboo support they were on wasn’t tall enough. Tomorrow, I need to (I hope) deftly untangle the one rowdy sweet pea that thought the neighboring tomato a congenial support. Wily guy.

I finished the live portion of Push-Up Club. Much to my surprise, this one exercise that was challenging two weeks ago was much much easier this week. It involves lowering to the floor with control from plank position. Sure, one can do it once, but 3 sets of four? Whoa baby. That is okay because there is a new exercise that was as hard as that first one. No chance of getting bored.

The cool thing about progressive overload is that one can keep rotating the exercises in using more weight or a different hand or foot position to keep building strength.

Next winter my teacher is going to do one of these one month series on the core.

With Walt on his way to Greece (he texted us a shot of a cool New York doorway the other night that says Peace & Love in neon bathed in pink) I skipped the old guy’s coffee get together today. We will carry on without him next week.

I feel for you all with the heat dome, the smoke, and those with heavy rain. We’ve had all those in the last few years and getting through, not a good time. Stressful.

Keeping my mood up as we turn into high summer here is my challenge.

I know this weird limbo of being between is going to end and I can spend August getting reoriented back to my newly reconfigured apartment. At least I hope I have the better part of August to do that. My board commitments kick into high gear in September.

Refreshing my teaching schedule is on the agenda too. I am going to add back in the half hour weights/resistance band practice I was doing before but at some point, an in-person class is worth considering. And marketing is a perennial issue. I love my students, and I could use a few more. The ones I have are remarkably loyal and I am so grateful to all that they add to my life.

That is then, this is now. It is a warm summer evening with the slightest of breeze. Carlo is having a bath beside me, and the fan is directed our way. We’ll just hang out and see what happens next.


mcbee July 01, 2023

11 weeks must have felt like a life time. My fingers are crossed for you getting back in your place before August and that with all the nice changes you will be able to really enjoy it!

Deleted user July 01, 2023 (edited July 01, 2023)

Edited

I really don't understand the way this is dragging on. At my old place they put in all new cabinets for kitchen and island and new quartz countertops in four days, and that was in 2021, with all the pandemic crap. They routinely renovate entire 800 sq ft apartments in the space of two weeks in most buildings around here, including going from carpet to flooring. All of this for your apartment should not have taken more than three weeks. What, do they get paid by the hour? This is really ridiculous.

Zipster July 02, 2023

I think you are showing a remarkable amount of patience with this on-going displacement. Glad that there is time to chill with Carlo, who has also been such a trooper. Guess as long as he has you he is happy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.