Three airplane conversations in These titles mean nothing.

  • June 28, 2023, 6:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. On the overnight flight from Newark to Dublin on a wide body United flight. My son in the aisle seat, me in the middle and the woman who said she liked to talk in the window seat. She was from Belfast, I heard her light accent. She’d brought her son to be a counselor at a camp. She was part of a family business which ‘helped people at the worst times of their lives’. She was familiar with the crew on the plane - she had worked for United in the US. She ordered white wine with ice from the attendant and I did too, starting my drink of choice for the trip - even if ice is hard to come by in parts of where we went.
    We talked a lot - the tv system wasn’t working, the crew kept apologizing and trying to ‘reboot’ it, but it never got so it worked (on the way home it did, and a vast, personal choice screen entertainment helps the hours go by).
    She told me she learned ‘customer service’ working for the airline, and then applied it in her family business.
    We discussed our families, our work lives, whether we planned to cook at the house in County Clare - John said no, we were eating out, and he was right. I told her my story about the woman on the train and the story I had told her from the Donald Hall short story about the college teacher and the young girl student and getting her address and sending her the book and not receiving a thank you and then later when I was trying to organize my books, finding her address and writing again to ask if she would mind returning the book and getting no answer to that either. Yeah, it was that kind of conversation.

  2. Two weeks later, on the same flight home from London to Newark, this time in the daylight and this time with the tv working, in the middle section I had a young man sitting beside me. He was a student of English and American literature - a fan of Mark Twin and George Orwell who surprisingly did not know who Graham Greene was. He was informed though about the semi, almost, not quite at all Russian coup that had just happened, was just happening, didn’t happen at all. He talked about his family, his school, his interest in WWII history. He was visiting friends in New York City and planned a short visit to Texas to see a friend, a former exchange student. He was nervous about going to Texas. I told him I’d had a good time in Texas. I tried to tell him the story about the kind of people you find everywhere - the kind of people you expect to find. He finally told me, twice in fact, that he was tired and needed some sleep. So I directed my attention to the tv, which this time was working. I’ll tell you about the movie another time.

  3. On the second flight home from Newark to Minneapolis, a young black man greeted Katie and me and sat beside me. He was polite and nicely dressed and as the plane began to take off, I noticed out of the corner of my eye, he made the Sign of the Cross. I had not seen anyone do that in a long long time. I said - I saw you make the Sign of the Cross. I liked seeing that. Sometimes I say a Hail Mary. He said he’d gone to Catholic schools all his school years and had even thought of becoming a priest. He had a light accent and I asked him where he was from. Western Africa, Liberia, he said. I told him I was traveling with my son and family and he was impressed that I had such a good son. He said children should take care of their mothers as they get old. He hadn’t seen his mother in four years, he hoped to be able to visit her soon. This trip was to visit his brother in Minneapolis. He has a sister in the States too. He liked the US, there is opportunity here, he said. And as we approached the landing, I saw him make the Sign of the Cross again, and murmur a silent prayer. I felt safer. The whole plane was safer. The whole world, perhaps....


Last updated June 28, 2023


Just Annie June 28, 2023

Lovely conversations!

NorthernSeeker June 28, 2023

When travelling I often find the people (some of them characters) just as much a part of the experience as the landscape and buildings. Odd that the man in your second conversation had never heard of Graham Greene. I hope the woman who did not return your book had a bit of a jolt when you sent that letter years later.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ June 29, 2023

I love to talk to people - like the woman from Belfast said she did.

thesunnyabyss June 28, 2023

Interesting convos.

IpsoFacto June 28, 2023

Just a wonderful entry. It truly was or is whichever.

A Pedestrian Wandering June 28, 2023

The seats of a plane lend themselves to conversations with strangers. I'm glad yours were enjoyable (and safe).

woman in the moon A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ June 29, 2023

I am more careful than I seem, I guess.
And a prayer for you too.

Sleepy-Eyed John June 29, 2023

:)

Jinn June 29, 2023

The conversations we have on flights. I think flying across the ocean would make me nervous but I would still like to do it .

Beret June 29, 2023

Interesting entry. As many times as I fly, usually several times a year, I have never had a conversation with anyone. Honestly, I don't want to so I suspect I give off that vibe. On the other hand I see people talk almost an entire flight and I think what are they talking about?

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ July 01, 2023

Conversation makes the time go better. I think. Plus you gotta learn something from anyone. I do try to look for hints that the other person has had enough conversation.

noko July 01, 2023

A diversity of souls there. Lovely.

Serin July 08, 2023

Sorry the second person withdrew so sharply. That's not fun.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ July 08, 2023

Oh wait,no, it wasn't that bad. We'd talked for a long time and at the end he he thanked me for making the time go more fast. Gosh, that's not exactly a ringing endorsement though, is it?
What do you expect though from someone who's never heard a Graham Greene?

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ July 08, 2023 (edited July 08, 2023)

Edited

Oh and I told you the movies were working and so I got to watch a really big almost good movie - with that guy everyone likes whose name I forgot --------- see how much fun I can be? He was married to Jenifer Anniston and Angelina Jolie - now I can remember their names. Ummm. it was "Babylon" about early/transitional Hollywood. Very colorful movie. Margaret Robbie is in it too. And when it was over I watched Natalie Portman portray Jackie Kennedy. That was ok and I enjoyed kind of critiquing the depiction of Mrs. Kennedy from whatever my viewpoint was.
I'm sure when you fly 'home' the flights are twice as long as the ones across the Atlantic. Wouldn't it be nice if fate could put us side by side? I hope it would be nice. I do not look forward to more air travel. But never say never.
One thing about this guy. He seemed to like the US. He'd been here before I think and he was looking forward to another visit. In fact, I don't think we met anyone who was totally anti'American'. Or that we totally rubbed the wrong way.
John had his phone stolen in London.. I intend to write about that. He lost years of pictures - of Will's sports and other kids growing up stuff - or and no doubt work related stuff that would be really hard to replace - over a period of time you know? the kids stuff Deb has a lot of similar stuff but not John's OWN pictures. It wasn't hard to replace the phone, cancel the other one and got his own number back He thought he had his pictures backed up but apparently didn't.
Anyway it was an interesting story.

ConnieK July 24, 2023

It's so much fun to learn about people in different culture and heartwarming to be reminded that most people are more alike than not.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.