I'm here in These titles mean nothing.

  • June 26, 2023, 1:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to Ireland, Paris and London, and now I’m back home.

I plan to write about at great length and to post some photos. As of now my photos are in limbo and as I recall my religious training there is no way out of limbo. It’s painless but as eternal as any of the other options. So … just saying.

I’m writing this publicly so I will try to leave out details. Ha ha ha. I plan a joke in every entry as well.

I went with my son and his family. Wife Deb and almost grown up kids Katie and Will. They all displayed a good deal of kindness and maturity. Probably more than I did. I turned 77 on the day we landed in Dublin. Overnight flights and even during the day flights across the ocean are events. Airports are events too. I will list them:
- Minnulaplis
- Newark
- Dublin
- Paris - Charles de Gaulle
- London - Heathrow

We stayed in a house in Ireland (plus one night in a hotel) and apartments in Paris and London. All three were lovely places and I plan to write about them at length too.

We ate a lot of good food, and I developed a white wine and ice cube dependence that I chased from place to place.

I had interesting airplane conversations.

My son had his phone stolen - semi-interesting story that I will relate at length too.

Oh do I have plans.

Of course my plans don’t always work out.

So far since it’s most recent I’ll report on my homecoming. I got my bank account and debit card fixed, I hope. I mean, really…

I did some laundry.

Jim had both dogs during the time I was gone - LIbby/Abby chewed up some linoleum and has learned her way down to the big creek and back. Hans missed his family. Jim took him to the other place every few days so he could see they weren’t there. I’m not sure he showed him a map to show him where they actually were.

I’ve had three telemarketer calls this morning - I hadn’t been able to reroute them to my cell phone - there’s always next time.
I heard from
- an offer to refund me a portion of my utility bills.
= an offer to help me recover damages from an accident in the last three years.
- a promise of a fresh peach pie delivered weekly for the next three years (I’m kidding about that one).

I’m not sure if travel broadened me or not. Deb said she lost six pounds but she went more places than I did. I found cozying up in foreign digs appealing and I was afraid if I went outside I’d get lost, so I did less than she did.

I did some things.
- hike on the cliffs of Mohr
- hikes through museums
- a ride on the big London Ferris wheel (with champagne)
- a trip through Winston Churchill’s underground war rooms

I turned down some other things..... but we won’t talk about that now.

I studied garbage haulers and London cabs. I took pictures of flowers - let’s not talk about them either… though flowers are nice to talk about.

I’m home to my own stove and refrigerator and laundry equipment. My own grocery stores. I wonder if I still remember how to drive?

Let life continue. It will anyway.

I either need to do something or take a nap. Either one is ok.

Blessings to you all. You deserve them.


Back again. I forgot to tell you I turned down the submarine ride.
And I’ve had a fourth phone call offering final expense insurance - not covering submarine rides.


Last updated June 26, 2023


Beret June 26, 2023

Yes! Eager to hear more.

Asenath Waite June 26, 2023

I'm legitimately looking forward to the stories. :)

Florentine June 26, 2023

How fun! Can't wait to hear more!

NorthernSeeker June 26, 2023

You are brave to go on that ferris wheel...every time I see a photo of it my toes curl. I like cozying up in foreign digs, too. Did you buy/read any of the newspapers? In London I'd end up in a pub drinking dark beer. White wine goes well with ice cubes and you take in a little more water.

Just Annie June 27, 2023

Welcome home! I can't wait to hear the details of your trip.

Purple Dawn June 27, 2023

I'm looking forward to your travel stories :)

Jinn June 29, 2023

I can’t wait to read more!

noko July 01, 2023

I am so glad you got to go. Yay for the family.

Serin July 07, 2023

Welcome back. Sounds like you had quite the adventure, and I look forward to stories.

We were taught that limbo was where we get stuck if we've been indeterminately bad or good until 3rd parties pray for us enough to tip the scales. Hopefully that promises good things for your files.

ConnieK July 24, 2023

Oh, I love Jim's heart! That was kind of him to try and reassure Hans. I'm glad you got to slip away and I'm glad you are home, safe and sound. My husband and I do not participate in everything the kids do when we vacation together. We can't keep up!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.