An American Haunting... in The Stuff That's Not Interesting But Is The Most Interesting Stuff I'll Write

  • June 26, 2023, 4:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I am moving again. I wasn’t really looking to move until the last couple of months. Since Cameron’s visit, my electricity bill has skyrocketed to the point where it’s not a little over half my rent. I cannot afford that. It has been widely circulated that the government did some shenanigans with the electricity fees prior to the recent election as a way to try to get the incumbent administration more votes… It didn’t work, but I’m irritated that I’m caught up in politics of a country I cannot even participate in.

The new place I’m moving to is closer to work and further from the hubbub of the city, which is probably a good thing. It’s also quite a bit smaller but still has everything I need. I’ve had to start cooking most of my meals for myself. It’s created a need for me to have all kinds of utensils and materials that I never really needed before. I mean, I have been searching for a wok, for God’s sake.

But that means I’m paying rent at two places for two months because I couldn’t let this place out of my grasp, it was too cheap and too close to work. Since it’s on the extension line of the BTS, it won’t cost me anything to go to work. Plus the building looks like a European village kind of thing. A nice little covered patio with space for a garden. Not the crazy death traps that I’ve had counted as balconies.

While I will miss my nice, two-story condo, I won’t miss the rent.

I don’t really regret it. This is my first time living in a real estate market where I could actually afford someplace bougie and expensive. Having done that, I’m quite content moving somewhere quaint and more normal for me. I just have to remind myself that it has to at least meet the criteria of being better than my place in California, which had no bed or running water… so a shower, kitchen and queen-sized bed already have me on the right foot. Plus, I’ll be saving 10,000 a month which is a big bonus.

Especially since I’m going to have to use that to pay for tuition. I have to go back to school.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.