Unsettled in These Foolish Things

  • June 26, 2023, 12:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel unsettled.

And even though I quit my job, the thought of being there another month until July 21st makes me sick to my stomach and not fully done with the agitation.

I gave my official notice last Thursday, and then Friday was my first day working during my notice. Unfortunately, things still felt as frantic as they did before resignation (and why shouldn’t they?) and I was as addled and anxious as ever.

It’s going to be a long, long month.

Good news is, after this coming week, we have the week of the 4th of July coming up and I’m only working two of those days because we get Monday the 3rd off (and I will be getting my annual brain scan that day) and of course, we get Tuesday the 4th off and then I will be having my 3-month cancer stuff and primary care visits on Wednesday the 5th. So I’ll only be working the 6th and 7th that week.

And I was supposed to have my remote design team in-office the week of the 10-14, but I’m not sure if that’s going to happen now.

I was also in the process of hiring two new designers, so that’s going to be super weird when they come in and their “boss” is not really going to be their boss?

Am I really going to be working there for much longer?

And yes, my counterpart IS going to take over both roles, but that’s going to be weird because they are not planning on beefing up her staff so that she can be out of the weeds, so unfortunately for her, it’s going to suuuuuuck. I don’t know how she’s going to do it, but it’s not really my problem at this point. I mean, I guess it WILL be a bit my problem over the next month, but then…who knows?

Is any of this making sense?

The bottom line is, I feel a little bit like a ragged flag flapping in the wind, holding on by a thread. I’ve been tossed and torn the last few years and I’m just feeling so lost lately.

I need to write about my parents’ 60th Wedding Anniversary party that happened on Saturday. I put it together with the help of a caterer working in partnership with a friend of my parents. It went over well, but it reminded me of their 50th Wedding Anniversary that was very similar to this one, only I had just come back from another busy China trip and I was still with Sexy Pants and my life felt so much more…together (even though it really wasn’t because it was after I’d found out that SP was a cheater and we were trying to work things out and failing).

Where did 10 years fucking GO?

Oh, that’s right - about half of those years I was fighting for my life, plus Covid.

What is the meaning of all of this anyway?

Who even am I?

I’m having a bit of a crisis lately and I want to make this right. But I’m so very, very lonely and I have a sick dog right now and I’m dreading working tomorrow. I need to find myself in something else. Something different. Something new.

I have a LOT to do.
GS


CharminglyNeurotic June 26, 2023

Do the bare minimum. She really only deserves 2 weeks - and those weeks are usually spent tying up loose ends, training, leaving notes... anything beyond that is a gift to her. Take long lunches. Leave on the dot. You will need your energy to start looking for something new. Conserve your energy.

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ June 26, 2023

Yes, that energy gets sucked dry there. It's going to get interesting.

Complicated Disaster CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ June 26, 2023

Absolutely 100% this. She DOES NOT DESERVE your energy and attention. Cruise through your notice period shrugging your shoulders at all the shit! xx

echopod June 26, 2023

I so identify with “where did the time go” and “why am I even here” thinking. Midlife is HARD. Hope this month or whatever flies by. You deserve something awesome from the universe.

ninakir88 June 26, 2023

i would just half ass it
i imagine she won't be the person to give you a good recommendation for your next job (spiteful) so why even bother

Nash June 26, 2023

I would mail it in and I would ship it third class.

Deleted user June 26, 2023

None of this job shit matters. Seriously. It doesn't. You're not getting anything out of this but more money than if you just walked out, except aggravation. She's not going to give you a reference. She's not going to treat you any better now. She'll probably treat you worse. Take long lunches. Take a ten-minute break every hour. Leave on time. If she wants more, say no. ("No" is SUCH a powerful word.) Go for walks if the weather is decent. Ground yourself in nature. Watch birds. Walk barefoot in the grass in the morning. Pick a mantra or affirmation and repeat it to yourself as necessary. Visit Tiny Buddha. Get into a good book or binge-worthy TV show. Do sudoku or crosswords or a jigsaw or something else that forces you to concentrate on what you're doing and will give a little hit of dopamine when you finish it. Get some colored pencils or glitter gel pens and a mandala or patterns coloring book. Pick a frequency and meditate. (I like this one: https://youtu.be/rsMnoMfJMbk ). Think of the long game. Because that woman and this job? Not worth another tear.

Complicated Disaster Deleted user ⋅ June 26, 2023

Also this! xx

pandora June 26, 2023

Poor Martini; is she okay? The end is in sight - hold on. You're almost there. I feel like we'll all exhale for you when it's over.

Serin July 05, 2023

Your counterpart is likely the next person to punch the Eject button from that place.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.