Not Quite Adversarial in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 24, 2023, 5:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I didn’t hear from the property manager for a week and then Friday afternoon I get an email saying that if I want to go ahead with replacing the flooring they need to get a quote and then have someone sign off on it and get it scheduled and… oh yeah, we are not going to get anyone in to help you move your furniture because of liability concerns but all you have to do is shove all your furniture into one room and then they will do the empty room and then…

Bleh. I love the supportive cooperative attitude here.

Over the weeks I have been trying with all my might to keep this situation non-adversarial, but my might is getting frayed a bit. From the president of the management company a bit later yesterday…

“Hello Noko,

The owner is aware of the expense of this long drawn out process. We understand that this has been difficult but as you know there have been delays that have been unavoidable. The information that we relay to you is what is being relayed to us.

Our Project Manager will coordinate the flooring vendor and he works with us and understands that this is an occupied apartment. He would not have undue delays.

We are all anxious to get this behind us.

Sincerely”

Nothing to see here, not our fault, unavoidable, anxious to see this behind us. Ugh.

In the meantime, they have moved a new tenant into the apartment upstairs that has been empty since October. I haven’t met her yet. She has a nice-looking dog and a broken ankle or something where she can’t put any weight on her lower leg. The stairs must be a bear for her.

And the kitchen cabinets have been placed back in the kitchen. Yesterday the dishwasher was on its side in the middle of the kitchen floor. The stove is unbelievably filthy. They didn’t cover it. It all makes me sad. It is hard to describe.

Otherwise, I am healing well from the dental procedure. The weather is gorgeous. My quarter plot meadow is thriving down at the community garden. Not everyone can say they have a meadow, you know.

Walt is going to New York today and then Greece and Lebanon. I am kind of hoping for a break in the action there for July. Many of the coffee guys are traveling so the group is smaller. This week we talked about getting hit by lightning and the wilderness and lucid dreaming and why yoga works and how much easier it is to learn something if you know you are going to teach it.

Mrs. Sherlock and I are going for a walk shortly and then she is going off for a week of hiking in Eastern Oregon.

I am going to relax and take advantage of a break in the displacement situation for the weekend and do the things I can that I enjoy on a lovely early summer day.


Last updated June 24, 2023


Zipster June 24, 2023

Honestly, how much better one would field if they would just really apologize. After all the delays and hassles they should move your stuff, it's the very least. Pathetic. You have shown so much patience. And how short sighted on their part to not come up with replacing the floor! I wish you some languid, summer peace.

Deleted user June 25, 2023

Good grief. I'm sorry you have to deal with that.

mcbee June 27, 2023

Sigh...
This makes me so frustrated for you. Get tough on the floor replacement. In my experience when the floor guys get there you just bat your eyes and say, "Oh, I didn't realize..." and they will move it for you. That being said, it may be time to just insist that this is the least they can provide after all they have put your through. Good weather and dental healing are both happy news!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.