new adventures in 2014

Revised: 08/17/2014 9:09 p.m.

  • June 19, 2014, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

9:22pm

Updates are becoming few and far between. There isn't anything going on. I mean I was on vacation for two weeks and work has been crazy since I've been back. We're only working two days a week and I feel like I didn't even get half the things on my list done. Stuff just keeps popping up out of nowhere and I have to take care of it.

You know, since I'm going out of town again next week. haha! We have a convention to attend for a couple days. Then we are planning to take a road trip across several different states. Our goal is to end up in Arkansas to pick up my picnic table and chairs that our friend made me. [This guy's in his 70s or 80s and he's still building furniture better than anything I'd ever be able to attempt!] We also have the goal of visiting all 50 states so this will definitely help with that. Hitting a couple across the middle on the way there and a few down the bottom on the way back.

When I was coming back from Seattle I had it in my head that it would be ok if we cancelled the extra trip after the convention. Mom had been saying something about tornadoes and what not. I thought it meant she was leaning away from the idea, but I guess not.

We've got maps. Yes! Real maps! The lady at AAA got all excited when she found out we needed them for a road trip. I haven't taken a trip via map in several years so I'm really pretty stoked about it. We used to do it all the time as kids. I don't want to toot my own horn, but I'm a damn good co-pilot. haha. I'd prefer it at least 100x over a dumb gps or weird navigation. It's so much easier to follow a map and just go with the flow. I've always been a "wing it" kind of girl. So we'll see how it goes.

Still waiting for my buddy Marie to get that kid out. Her due date has come and gone and now it's just a waiting game. I can't wait to hear the news. I check my phone with the hopes of seeing that magical text that says she's in labor. I've never been able to experience this whole baby thing with a friend of mine. Not too mention that she like suddenly became a super good friend out of nowhere. Like I don't even know what it is but I'm happy for her and I wish I could be there. I've almost decided that I definitely need to go back before the end of the year to see the new little one.

Speaking of new experiences: I received an invitation to Lea's bridal shower. She just got engaged but it seems they won't be waiting long for the wedding. I've never had a friend get married before. I mean I've been to a ton of weddings but none of them involved childhood friends of mine. We've known each other since kindergarten. That basically obligates me to attend any and all events I am invited to.

I don't know how these things work though. Like bridal showers? What the heck do people do at those? hah. I rsvp'ed via e-mail [that was strange..] and offered my help for anything they may need. I figured I should. I'm not sure how they're setting up the whole thing, but I live here and I don't have an every day job. Why not?

I'm currently on an eat-better-exercise-more kick. Mostly because I saw a picture of me with my buddy and it could have been easily mistaken for two pregnant ladies instead of one. hah. Maybe not really, but it hit me and I realized that I needed to do something better. So better meals and extra exercise this week. I don't know how well I'll do on the road trip, but I'll probably start back up when I get back. Seems I've timed it well with these wedding events coming up. haha.

Saw CK today. First time I've seen him in months [well I saw him through the window that one day outside my house, but that doesn't count] I was driving Mom to pick up the truck this morning when I cut through the parking lot at the shopping center. I noticed a pickup truck coming towards us and thought "ck", but at this point I sorta started thinking that about every loud truck in that style. [very annoying brain!] Plus there was a car in front of it so it was hard to tell.

Once I got closer, and the car moved, I recognized the blue patches and baseball cap in the drivers seat. Definitely him. So I blurted out this fact and slowed down a little. It looked like he might be looking my way, but I honked the horn for good measure anyway. He looked, I waved, and maybe he waved back? I was already driving past and didn't want to crash.

On the way back I cut through again. His truck was parked taking up about 10 spaces. I had considered stopping for a chat, but I didn't see him. I was trying not to stare too much at his truck in case he could see me, so I wasn't sure if he was siting in it or not.

Turns out that he was in the auto parts store and Mom ran into him a few minutes later when she went to buy wiper blades. I wanted to drag all the gossip out of her, but she didn't give me much. She said she thought I was going to stop and talk to him. I informed her that that would have been weird. You know, searching every store until I bumped into him. And I told her that we weren't really that kind of friends. All she told me was that he was paying when she walked in. I guess he told her he was heading out to service some trucks and that was it. I feel like there are probably some details she's missing, but then again she's not quite as detail oriented as I am. Like she doesn't really care to remember all things involving him. haha.

I really don't know what kind of friends we are. It's been so weird lately. Random texts or what not. But he never seems to ask much. It tends to be all this small talk stuff and I ask the questions. If I were him I'd probably have a few dozen things I could say, but he doesn't seem to pick up on them. I don't know. Home-schooled kids are weird ;-P

I haven't told Mom that we've exchanged those texts. I totally forgot about him sending me a picture of his attempt at tortillas until this morning. Any other time I would probably show her, but I can't seem to bring myself to share it all. She already thinks something's going on. I'd rather keep it quiet so I don't get harassed anymore. ha. [especially when I can't even figure out what's going on myself...I'd rather not deal with it.]

That's that.
I need to go to bed now.

rose.
12:21am


Last updated August 17, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.