The Deal in These Foolish Things

  • June 22, 2023, 8:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

(see previous couple of entries for backstory on me quitting my high-paying yet life-sucking job)

So, we came to an agreement. I officially resigned, but I gave her ONE month.

One month of semi-effort, full lunch breaks and leaving the office ON TIME. One month will give me more than a month and a half extra savings. One month will buy me some time for the job hunt (not that I will do that on the job, but I certainly won’t be working as frantically as I have been). One month to sort some things out. One month to feel human again.

Of course, I won’t feel fully human until I don’t have to go to that office anymore and listen to her patronizing tone.

And who knows - she may ask me to leave after one week (or even tomorrow!). But I’m done with this shit.

And you know what the really interesting part is? I think she’s going to take some advice I gave her yesterday about having a VP over both Design and Product Development and promote my counterpart to that role (even though she speaks sooooo poorly of my counterpart behind her back). She told me that’s her plan (of course, after I suggested it - haha - sure, it can be your idea, bitch). Maybe something I’ve said will sink in?

I also think I’ll probably be less fearful over the next few weeks because what do I have to lose?

I feel like I’m getting the old Ginger SNAP back!

I also feel like writing again!

Tired now. Going to bed. It’s been a long few weeks/months.
GS


plushcreep June 22, 2023

I think this is the perfect compromise. Sure, going out in a blaze of glory is tempting, but you DID just go through a long period without work, and I'm sure that's a big factor in handling this the way you did. Well done, and best of luck moving forward!

pandora June 23, 2023

Phew! That must feel good. Too bad it took quitting to possibly enjoy some semblance of normalcy in the job. I hope you tell us about those last awful days and what she did but only because I'm nosy.

Mr. Mofo June 23, 2023

It makes me sad that lunch and leaving on time is now seen as semi effort.

Deleted user Mr. Mofo ⋅ June 23, 2023

Really. Heaven forbid anyone eat and have a life.

colder June 23, 2023

Enjoy the last couple of weeks. Not your circus anymore 🙂

Parliament June 25, 2023

Things are going to work out for you. I'm proud of you for standing up.

Serin June 26, 2023

Good.

This is very good.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.