Resignation Update in These Foolish Things

  • June 21, 2023, 10:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Go back an entry to see WTF is going on right now with my job at The Cutie Pie Company.

I actually wussed out yesterday. I had my letter of resignation ready to give to Chief Cutie, but chickened out at various times during the day. Meanwhile, she was being so condescending yesterday afternoon and into the evening, but I didn’t have an opportunity because the pace was so fucking frantic. And finally, at the end of the day, she put the fucking blame on me for not updating something that was done before I even worked there.

So this morning I was like, I HAVE TO DO THIS TODAY.

So while I was in the parking lot before stepping into the office, I sent her a text asking when I could talk with her. I knew she would call me back.

And she did.

So I finally just got the guts up and said over the phone that I was resigning.

And haha, she wasn’t surprised. In fact, she apologized for being such a horrid person.

But then she asked me if I’d just write up some bullet points on what would make the job better for me and what would work - and I just knew she’d try to talk me out of resigning, so I told her I’d put something together (WHYYYY) and get back with her.

She told me to go home and take the day (I’m now working from home because I have some work stuff to do regardless) and put something together…

But I don’t want to.

I want to just go. But she’s asked me for craziness like a SIX MONTH notice. I actually have three weeks on my letter, so I’ll probably end up with giving her six weeks, maybe??

I don’t know. I just want out at this point.

But she’s so freaking persistent that I’m now in a super weird place.

More to follow, I’m sure.
GS


Firebabe June 21, 2023

OMG.

I'm sorry, I know this has been super stressful for you, and I know it must be a strange mental place to be in. But.

Like.

JUST GO.

It is not your responsibility to fix the toxic nature of this company, or to tell Chief Cutie how to fix her shit. You could stay for six weeks or six months, AND YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIX ANY OF THIS. Your homegirl KNOWS that her stuff is fucked, but since she's the one constantly lubing up, SHE'S the one who needs to dig in and fix it. Nothing you do or say is going to impact anything.

Give her two weeks. Period. You don't owe more than that, and, more importantly, giving more than that WILL NOT MAKE A DIFFERENCE TO ANYTHING. Other than to increase your stress level.

Girl. Just get out. There is nothing to discuss and there's nothing that can be changed to affect the situation you're in. Don't manufacture guilt for something you have no control over. You're done. It wasn't great. You're ready to move on to something that is better. GO.

simple mind Firebabe ⋅ June 21, 2023

Excellent advice.

Sunny Baudelaire Firebabe ⋅ June 21, 2023

^ What she said. This is some bullshit. This company is not your responsibility.

Deleted user Firebabe ⋅ June 21, 2023

I agree. Her company, her bullshit, her acknowledged horridness--all her problems and no one else's.

I'm an Okking Fool Firebabe ⋅ June 21, 2023

100%

CharminglyNeurotic June 21, 2023

nope. she doesn't get that. she is super lucky you don't just peace out and give NO NOTICE. If she wants you to work for 6 more months then it has to be fully from home, strict 9-5 and freelance so you are free to look for another job. And if you get one before that period of time you have the option of leaving in two weeks. How dare she? The standard is 2-3 weeks and I think 3 is being super gracious. Besides this is your livelihood and you need time and energy to quickly find another position or start your own business, etc.

ninakir88 June 21, 2023

if she know she is a horrid person, why continue doing it?

Complicated Disaster ninakir88 ⋅ June 21, 2023

^^THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!^^

The Rocky Mountain June 21, 2023

I would absolutely NOT give her 6 weeks. Stick to your guns and give her 3 weeks.

Lux Lunae June 21, 2023

It's pretty bold that she's asking for 6 months. That's insane. I think it would be great if you talked straight in those bullet points and directly told her everything that needs to change. She is horrid and no one should have to be blamed for things they haven't done, nor work at such an insane pace and never have any free time to themselves.

pandora June 21, 2023

Honestly, it’s almost lolies how out of touch she is. You owe her nothing! Do what is right for you. It’s also not your job to fix her or her company. You weren’t hired as a consultant; she can have someone come in and do a whole thing on the culture and toxicity if she actually wants improve. But it has nothing to do with you, not even a little.

Deleted user June 21, 2023

Your self-respect and self-esteem depend on you sticking to your guns on your notice. Further, you owe her NOTHING in terms of your input on what would make things better. Her company, her bullshit, her problems. She has manipulated and abused the crap out of you. Stop letting her.

colder June 21, 2023

I would say, stick to your original guns. If she wants to do an exit interview or have you give some recommendations, type those up and drop them off on your way out.

bobbi01 June 21, 2023

She is only going to get worse once she has nothing to lose. You need to get the hell out of dodge!

Nash June 21, 2023

Not your circus, not your monkeys. Walk and never look back.

Sugar Magnolia June 21, 2023

I hate to be practical amongst all this excellent advice but you have to consider how long you can afford to be unemployed without a n exit package or unemployment. Perhaps you can leverage some time.

Ginger Snap Sugar Magnolia ⋅ June 21, 2023

Honestly already considered.

Serin June 25, 2023

Frankly Firebabe's the best career counsellor I've seen, and she's right here.

You need to live with the ultimate decision, so whatever you pick is going to be the right answer. Not necessarily the best answer though, because you're not exploitive and your employer is.

In 6 hours or 6 months, she's going to be in the same situation, and if she's yelling at you for something before your time, transitioning isn't going to improve things for Chief Cutie, so even if you give her more runway, roll back to as normal (in other places) work schedule and productivity level as best you can.

And be proud of yourself. Whatever you offer her, it's a brave thing to quit, and it's brave to face a bully. Acknowledge it and pat yourself on the appropriately receptive body part.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.