I need to get in shape. in The Big, Blue, House. Year two.

  • June 20, 2023, 3:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So roofers from the Neighborhood Partnership are coming to “look at it”, which is awesome, because it’s free, and Don doesn’t need to be clambering up there. But to see the leak(s) from the inside, you have to be in the east side attic closet. Which had a litter box in it for the elderly kitties. (And a little pan to catch any drips.)

The top floor’s two side closets look like this:

Somewhere on my long list of projects is getting rugs and paneling to put in them.

alt text

alt text

So I have to vacuum the whole place, and move their litter. And while I’m at it, I should move most of the stuff out of the west side closet in case they want to look in there, too. No biggie, I thought.

That was Friday. It is now Tuesday and I still need to finish vacuuming up the Carpet Fresh that I put down when I moved their litter box, and now I need to vacuum all of the stairs, for all of the little bits of styrofoam.

I am exhausted. I usually vacuum one floor at a time, every couple of days or whenever I start noticing that it needs it. But all three at once, plus moving boxes, has completely wiped me out. And it’s not like this is some inordinately large building. It’s all of the stairs.

So there are stairs to the second floor, where there are two bedrooms and a bathroom, then more stairs to the attic/third floor, which is just one big room with five closets.
alt text

Elizabeth and Minerva, from the stairs yesterday:
alt text

The vast majority of the stuff that was in closets on the third floor, is now in the office, at the back end of the first floor.

Go me. Now you watch, they won’t even come inside.

Oh well. Maybe I burned a few calories, at least.


Forest Firefly June 21, 2023

I love all the nooks and crannies in your home. Vacuuming the stairs are the worst.

Asenath Waite Forest Firefly ⋅ June 23, 2023

It's unfortunate I don't know anyone with kids. This would be a great place to play hide and seek.

Sleepy-Eyed John July 14, 2023

I barely clean. I really should. I'm usually too tired / depressed / lazy to bother.

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ July 17, 2023

That's fairly normal for a bachelor. The stereotype of the "messy bachelor pad" came from somewhere. Most women have a kind of "nesting instinct" I think. The general compulsion to maintain a presentable living space.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.