An Opportunity to Feel Safe in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 17, 2023, 9:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is a big year for wild sweet peas in the disturbed areas here. Usually, we see more Queen Anne’s Lace and chicory. I love the light blue of the chicory against the brightness of the sweet peas. There is a yellow something in the mix I will need to learn this year as well. And the grasses are off the charts. It is a nice break from the homeless encampments, but they are there too. Less this year though.

I wrote out by hand a list of all my medications (the printer is over in Fred) to take to my periodontist yesterday. His system is not linked to the hospital records system even though the two systems are under the same umbrella organization. I knew he was going to want to know about the blood thinner I am now on. He was so concerned about my current health that at first, he told me he wasn’t going to do the scheduled procedure until he talked to my cardiologist. Ugh.

Talk about a blow to the bruise. Everything scheduled for the next few days was predicated on having this procedure that had already been delayed.

Then he took a look at my mouth and relented. He said I didn’t need the grafting he had been planning, yay for healthy tissue, and he could proceed with the next phase for the most recent implant. He did say he wanted to talk to my cardiologist before he does any more stuff. But he at least did the thing I had planned for.

He also told me all about a recent leak mitigation he had in his house that was quite an extravaganza of contractors and stress and expense. I could tell he truly understood when I said recent circumstances had been stressful.

The scheduled periodontal work is over. I have a break from the fully invasive stuff for months now. And I will finally get the crown that will make my smile look normal by the end of the summer.

The contractors are working on Fred. I have the new key. The toilet here is fixed and the door does not stick. What a week! Oh, and I had the Open Road Board meeting in there too.

I have signed up for a four-week workshop on Yoga Therapy for Emotional Eating that starts in a couple of weeks. I am most interested in the approach that will be used. I am not a yoga therapist, but my main teachers are, and this is an allied perspective. It will be similar but slightly different from the tradition I teach in.

The Push-Up Club stuff I am doing is just the right amount of challenge. Handstand Club was a bit much, as was Pull-Up Club, but this is just right. It is progressive too so as I get stronger, I can keep the challenge level the same. Mrs. Sherlock is doing the practices too. She has been cleared to do all her activities by her cardiologist.

I bought a 20 lb. dumbbell as a birthday present for myself.

In spite of my good intentions, I still haven’t made it back to the gym yet. I will be working with a Physical Therapist in August on avoiding sciatica flare-ups in the future, (this last flare-up only lasted about 10 days) and I suspect there will be leg presses ahead which one needs a machine for, though one can mimic it partially with dumbbells and squats.

Kes gave me a good suggestion for new shelf-paper so I will order some of that in anticipation of putting my kitchen back together. I realized when I was over at Fred a few days ago that I am going to have to wash all my clothes that I left in the closet. When they put the bathtub back in both the bedroom and closet doors were open. I really did think I was only going to be displaced for two weeks.

Silly me, here in the modern world of the future.

For now, though I am taking a break from all the things for a few days to rest up and heal. The plan is for Kes and Most Honorable to come up and hang out tomorrow for the lowest key birthday bash ever. (Scrambled eggs and lemon curd, anyone?)

Poor Carlo will probably be hiding behind the microwave for the duration. It is important for him to feel safe, but I can’t wait until we can get him resettled and give him the opportunity to relearn how to relax.


Last updated June 17, 2023


Jinn June 17, 2023

Happy Birthday !! Enjoy your day .
I love those sweet peas. I have them in my yard now and am trying to figure out if I can transplant some to the new place or if I will just have to start over with seed. I tried putting some in a pot once and they did not like it :-) They died pretty quickly . Definitely they are not an inside plant.
Carlos and you will be glad to get back to your place.

Deleted user June 19, 2023

Happy birthday, lovely one! May the coming year bring you good health, a resettling in your home, and peace and contentment.

noko Deleted user ⋅ June 19, 2023

Thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.