Done With Rolling With It in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 13, 2023, 4:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was looking yesterday for the exact date they took the outside wall out (January 31st) to help with a timeline I was preparing yesterday and so started reading my Prosebox posts starting a year ago. There is rather a lot about my little garden plot. Apologies for that. It is one of those things that a person is fully engaged in that might not hold that level of interest for others.

The above picture of the clematis wending its viny way through a companion tree was taken near the garden but not in it.

I am reaching my tolerance limit on these repairs and the displacement. I had a day yesterday that was not good for my heart. After class I was working on a spreadsheet for the League of Women Voters and got up to do something in the kitchen and the next thing I know someone is opening the door with a key.

I was expecting the maintenance guy to look at the running toilet and the sticking door today, not yesterday, but whoever this was did not knock. (Good thing I don’t own a gun and would be inclined to use it.) They started to walk right in. It was the project manager and another woman with a baby strapped to her chest. (Doubly glad I am not a gun owner.)

She was like, omg Noko, I am so sorry, I forgot you were here.

They backed out and left. I had an adrenalin rush of major proportions. I decided I would go out and look at the For Lease sign next door to see if I could get a number for the actual owner of the complex. It is time he knew what is going on.

Coming back, I ran into her again, coming from another apartment. I asked her politely if she knew the name of the owner and could I have it. She said she did know, it was a limited partnership, and she would get it to me when she got back to the office.

I was hopping mad. She must have intuited that.

In the meantime, I get this garbled text from Mrs. Sherlock that a group of my morning students were taking me out to lunch at the Spaghetti Factory next Tuesday for my birthday.

And then I get a message from an Open Road board member that we need to have a board meeting before Walt leaves for Europe at the end of June. How about next Tuesday across town.

Mrs. Sherlock was doing social planning while waiting to see her cardiologist.

I had told her specifically if she wanted to do something with me for my birthday, I would like it to be low key, maybe in her garden and not in a restaurant.

I asked if we could instead, please just meet in a local park instead so Frieda her poodle could come too. I love Frieda. So, she sets that up, but in a park across the river that I do not like. I decided to not be as much of a princess as I wanted to be and just said fine… you are required to give me a ride though.

We resolved the board meeting dilemma by tacking it onto our old guy’s coffee get together this Thursday.

My intruder did get back to me, not with the name of the limited partnership but with the name and contact info of the President of her company.

I spent two and a half hours composing a long email to her about all of this. She did reply at 7:08 AM today saying that she would make sure there was regular communication and that she would see what she could do about getting the rest of the repairs expedited and completed.

Oh gosh and today the maintenance guy looked at the toilet in Fred, the apartment I had been living in for 13 years and declared it fine, (of course it was fine, it was not the broken one), but it seemed like the lock was loose, so they changed that!

And due to scheduling conflicts, they can’t fix the toilet here (the one that is broken) until tomorrow.

I am not even going to mention the new key in the mailbox craziness, okay, my head is already spinning.

My roll with it mojo seems to have dissipated. I am ever so ready for this to be over. One of the board members asked me in all innocence yesterday if my remodel was done yet.

My remodel! Snort. If only. I just want to get back to status quo.


Last updated June 14, 2023


Deleted user June 13, 2023

Yep, that would have sent me over the edge. I mean, I would have already been over the edge, but that would have had me climbing back up just so I could go over it again.

Zipster June 15, 2023

I think you are due a generous rebate for this displacement, the amount of time it is taking, not to mention being barged in upon!

mcbee June 15, 2023

I agree with the noter above, a generous...super generous rebate and a quick resolution is the least they should do. This has been crazymaking for you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.