Little Rambles in Days of My Destiny

  • Aug. 15, 2014, 5:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Listening to Corinne Bailey Rae's album "The Sea" and finding that I love it as much as I love her first self-titled album. Finding that I love her still. I love her lyrics, her music, her sweet voice. I love what she writes about and how she writes about it.

Another artist I have discovered lately - and absolutely love - is Bebel Gilberto. Delicious music, in English and Portuguese. Yesssssss.

This week I have started reading a book called "Behind the Shock Machine," which is about Stanley Milgram's obedience experiments in 1961. Basically the author always felt that the experiment seemed incomplete without the subjects' voices. So she sets out to explore this very thing.

My younger brother arrived back in Chile yesterday after extending his stay by 8 weeks. The whole family missed him, even me, and I live 600kms away from him when he's here! I found I was quite distressed by this afternoon when I couldn't get in touch with him to welcome him home and hear his voice, simply because for whatever reason they kept missing my phone calls, as has been the case since yesterday afternoon. I realised then that I really have missed him. He's the little brother I tend to feel a stronger connection to, due to the fact that he's the first younger sibling I ever had, and his arrival into this world sparked a strong sense of responsibility and protection on my part - something that has always stayed with me particularly in regards to him. He's a special one.

Helen has started up work out sessions at her house again. I've been going there for 4 weeks now, doing the same work out and I noticed this week that my body is stronger already. The work out doesn't feel as strenuous as it first did. We have been doing the circuit once (instead of 3 times as it states). This coming week we will upgrade to doing the circuit twice. Yay! I find that on other days I am still as lazy as ever, but for now, well, one day a week is good too. Part of me would like to look physically amazing by the time my 30th birthday comes around, but the other part of me can't really be bothered. I always sit in this midway point when I'm slightly flabby but still okay with the way I look. And that's okay, really. The main thing is that I love and accept myself FIRST.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.