June Bugs in Thirty-Eight

  • June 9, 2023, 10:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey friends, how are we all doing this June morning. We’re already a good ways through June, but this month has been pretty interesting to say the least.

Sooo, lets see where to start…oh, yeah. Buckle up friends its been a ride.

I had put in an order to Walmart to get a few grocery items that we were out of (with no running car) and the battery we needed to get the car running. I had asked around to a few people and finally got ahold of my aunt. She was kind of being like ehhhhh i dunno about simply going to Walmart and picking up my order. Like I wasn’t asking her to go around the store and get shit for me, just sit in the spot and have them load it up for you and then we’d unload it.

At that point my friend JD offered to pick me up and take me to pick it up and then we could hang out for a bit. So we were going to do that, but his water heater had been acting up, so I was just going to take his truck to the store while he worked on it.

So I did that. I was halfway to Silver when HIS fucking truck overheated. You can’t even imagine the things going through my head at that point. For various reasons, but damn it was a huge smack in the face lol.

I called him, told him what was going on, and that I would slowly try to make it back to his house and we’d figure it out from there. I texted Randy what had happened and that it would probably be a while....ugh.

I did end up making it back to his house in about 20 minutes, which was good. It would do fine going down the hill in neutral, so I’d let it cool down, then head up the hill, pop it in neutral going down, and it would cool down enough to get me up the next hill. I had to pull over once but I made it back. oh lordt.

So he ended up having to drive us to his step-mom’s house, borrow a truck from her to take me home, then drop that truck back off there and slowly drive the other truck back to his house.

I felt TERRIBLE. I was apologizing profusely and he was just like hey don’t worry, I doubt it’s anything you actually did, the truck is older, etc. So I was just like ugh whatever ok but I still feel bad.

Sooooo turns out that since the truck is older, the engine fan blades had cracked, apparently they were just a really hard plastic. So when it cracked, it just flew into the radiator. Thankfully it didn’t go the other way into the engine. I told him that these are the Final Destination kind of things that give me anxiety while driving. blink

So, I got home finally, without the shit I needed of course. So I called my aunt again....

Well she reluctantly agreed to pick it up the next day. So we got that the following day and got the battery changed. The original battery that was in there had started to bulge on one side, so yeah it was good that we replaced it. Sure enough it started right up. Randy took it for a test drive (after doing the oil change and thermostat a few days before) to see if it would overheat and it took him a good while to get back.

I figured dang it, he is probably overheated somewhere. But, he came back about 20 minutes later. No problems!

So that was fantastic. I made an appointment for that following Sunday to get the tires changed. I had placed the order for 2, but when they went to get started, they noticed that the ones I had ordered were a different size to the ones that were on the back, which we had replaced a couple of years ago.

Instead of two tires, I had to buy four that day. I also had to go do Laundry that day, so I spent all morning at Walmart waiting for my tires to be done (3 hrs) and then had to go do another 3 hours worth of laundry lol fml. but it was ok, got a lot of shit done.

Monday I don’t remember doing much of anything. My mind is blank for that day.

Tuesday I think that’s the day I took JD to the dispensary, and I had to pay my property taxes as well as pickup the med I was out of for like a week. Hung out and smoked some weed with him and his doggo for a little bit. Randy ordered us food from Blake’s and I picked it up on my way home.

Had that for dinner and then we probably just watched movies lol. The following day I felt like crap because I restarted the med after being off it for like a week. It’s the Azathioprine, and it’s the second of the 3 chemotherapy drugs they use for RA. It works well, but I couldn’t get my Dr to call in the prescription after several phone calls and then I finally just sent them a text and that’s how it got filled. Jeez. I’ll just do that from now on.

Hmmm So Thursday the rest of the stuff for the car started arriving. The Shocks and the Brakes. That was awesome.

We had also pre-ordered Diablo IV and were able to start playing it as of June 1st at like 5pm. But it took us a while to get in. So far it’s been a ton of fun. I’m playing a Rogue and Randy is playing Druid. I also have a Barbarian that I’m running by myself. We spent the rest of Thursday evening and pretty much all day Friday playing that.

The weekend was alright too. Saturday there was supposed to be a big town wide yard sale, where everyone would just put their stuff out to sell and everyone else would stop by, etc. but we drove around and there was maybe 6 people with stuff out. Meh lol. We were here 6 years ago when they had it and there were a ton of people out. So crazy.

I think after that we went and had food at The Patio and then came back home and played more Diablo haha. Sunday not much happened.

Monday Randy went to start working on the car. Saturday when we were looking at sales, the newest member of the town police force is a younger guy, about 10 years younger than us, and he somehow attached himself to Randy lol. He gave him a ride a few weeks ago to Silver to get the Thermostat, so that’s where they met and so he offered to help him with the car because he has a huge like 4 car garage.

So we were chilling playing D4 Monday night and he calls him to say he was out of work. So Randy heads over there around 8:30pm. Well around 11:30 I see them show up, but in the other guys truck. So I figured they just didn’t get finished (back shocks and all four brakes).

Nope, Randy was like ughhhh lol. Apparently the other guy, i’ll just call him Cop, had removed something too soon causing the shock spring to decompress before it should have, and it jammed it down into the control arm. luckily nothing was damaged, but it was just wedged in there. OMG so they spent the rest of that time trying to CUT the dang thing out of there with a grinder. Didn’t work.

But when Randy got home he was super sick to his stomach. That continued into the next two days! He was vomiting like every 20 minutes to an hour. We were prepared to head to the ER but then I remembered I had seen some pepto somewhere, so we started giving him that, and he started to feel better.

Cop actually finished the car for us on Tuesday and dropped it off that night! So that was super nice of him to do. It runs good and feels good. It doesn’t slide on turns anymore and it just feels nice and sturdy finally! We’ve had it for four years and this is the first time it’s all been like that. Oh man, feels good.

Yesterday we finally got Randy out of the house after two days in bed. Got some grocery shopping done, but he was beat by the time we finished that so we came home. I still have to go to Walmart again in a while. But I’m in no rush.

So we’ll do that and then I also gotta get another belt for my cooler because we put the new motor in and then realized the belt was in pretty bad shape. So yeah good times ugh lol.

Anywho. I think that’s it for now thankfully. Ha. If you make it this far, tell me what you’re most looking forward to this coming summer!


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.