I Miss You in These Foolish Things

  • June 8, 2023, 6:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey, my PB friends, I miss you so very much! Like, I feel all achy inside knowing that I haven’t been able to read much or write anything in so many days. I have a lump in my throat. It’s absolutely TRUE.

This is not much of a life.

And look, I know that any new job takes a lot out of a person. There’s a learning curve and even long hours and probably not much vacation time either.

But this. This is something altogether different.

Anyway, I was able to have some life breathed into me this week because Best Bud came to visit on Sunday and stayed for a few days. Her son is going to be attending the University in [my new city] in the fall and this week was his orientation, so Best Bud drove him down and we all spent the night together in my apartment on Sunday night and then he left on Monday to attend his meetings and learn about his new school.

So while he was doing that, I got Best Bud all to myself! For three more days!

We both worked from my place on Monday and boy…was that interesting. While I was frantically trying to get things done, attend Google Meets and continuously put out fires, Best Bud was casually alternating sitting at my dining room table, going outside to the patio to relax and going to the business center at my complex to get some thing printed out.

She did hear my last disaster of a video meeting and I came out of my office/spare bedroom completely defeated and popped open a bottle of wine and started drinking. I asked her if she’d heard any of it and she said she did and confirmed that Chief Cutie is off her ever-loving rocker.

I have a witness!

Actually, there are many, many witnesses.

But the rest of our time together was AMAZING. We did two dinners out and a dinner in after our work days. And Bob came over to my place and we all talked and talked and laughed and got tipsy together. Just like the old days only we are all a LOT older.

And when she left yesterday, I got home from another ridiculously weird day…to nothing. Nobody.

OH THAT MADE ME SO SAD!!

Anyway, I’m here. I haven’t quit yet. I do have a 2nd (video) interview with a company back in [my old city] next Friday, so that should be interesting. Truth be told, I’d rather stay here in this new city because I think it’s so badass, but for the right job I would move back to my old area to be closer to mom and dad and my friends, but we’ll see.

I’m also working on this possible side gig that wouldn’t bring in much income (right now), but might have some interesting opportunities - or just help me get into the groove, ya know?

So I’m working on things. I’m GOING TO MAKE THIS BETTER.

Did you know that my mantra this year is “Things work out…even better.”

I have a lot more to say but I come home from work feeling so freaking deflated.

But I wanted to let you know that I do miss you and I do love you. Very much.

And I will see you again soon.
GS


Deleted user June 08, 2023

I'm glad you got a reprieve and some validation from your best bud. Hang in there. There's something way better for you out there.

Nash June 08, 2023

We miss you too. Life is too short for jobs like that.

colder June 08, 2023

‘Things will work out even better’ is a great motto for any year!

Complicated Disaster June 08, 2023

❤️ xx

Jinn June 08, 2023

We miss you too and are hoping things are getting better every day .

At Last June 09, 2023

I’m so sorry.

sudare June 10, 2023

That’s a good mantra! I hope my life will be like that!

Serin June 16, 2023

Go you. Really glad you got solid time with your friend, and also the sanity check about your boss. The external perspective can so very valuable in situations like this.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.