Curiosity Q in one day i will organize my books good

  • June 2, 2023, 11:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I saw someone ask this, uh, one hundred years ago and I’m interested to get more answers to the same question.

I’m not sure if I should throw a content warning on this? I feel like the question serves as its own content warning, but folks are welcome to lmk if there’s a keyword or two I should throw in up top.

K enough preamble:

What age were you allowed to be home alone for longer than a few minutes? i.e., longer than a quick corner store run, laundromat machine swap, mail check, etc. A length of time wherein you might have to like, get yourself water or food or whatever.

And if you had siblings, were you taking care of a younger sibling(s)? Being watched by an older sibling?

Same question to parents if they’re comfortable answering, and I wanna clarify: This is a dead-ass judgment-free Q for me. I know very little about childhood development and couldn’t accurately judge an appropriate age if I tried, but I know the development of like, maturity and self-preservation instincts can vary. Most importantly, I’m extraordinarily aware that not everyone has a choice in the matter. My family didn’t sometimes. You’re welcome to leave answers as private and I wholeheartedly promise that you will not receive criticism from me.

Okay, that’s all!

P.S. I will write or record something non-rhetorical on FO soon, probably today tbh


Last updated June 02, 2023


pangolin June 02, 2023 (edited June 02, 2023)

Edited

I would say 10 at the very oldest. latchkey life baybeeeee

edit: oh and my slightly younger brother was there but I guess it was a "team work makes the dream work" situation

our much older brother watched us sometimes like if the parents would be gone overnight or something.

hippiechica15 June 02, 2023

We were latchkey kids a couple days a week, not sure how long we were alone...prob an hour or less, after the bus dropped us off. I was....I think 6 or 7, so my 2 sisters were 5 (and I was 7-9)...that was back in like '94-95 and that would NOT fly these days. We would stay home alone if sick, too. My parents both worked, and my mom did come home mid-day. She was a school bus driver, so the driver would look out for us as well. We were out in the suburbs and had strict instructions to stay locked in the house. I still have my original house key from that time, so I guess I was a fairly responsible child.

I personally would not leave a kid under 10/11 alone (and I am not a parent so I would not at all!!) but I get why my parents did. Plain old gaps in childcare.

Out of Doubt: End time June 02, 2023 (edited June 02, 2023)

Edited

Why is this considered such a harmful question that it needs a content warning? I don't get it.

My parents would go on weekend vacations and leave me at about 7ish to watch my little sister alone all weekend. They gave us money and I would order us pizza. My parents had 5 kids and I was kid #4. I helped babysit and raise my nieces and nephew since about that age to 19 while she was working. I started leaving my own daughter at home alone about that same age too in order to just go out and get a few errands done or to go hunting for several hours.

Honestly, I feel it's up to each individual family, but a good age is around 7/8 in my opinion. Just teach them to leave the doors locked and don't answer the door no matter what. Even if it's the cops.

rhizome June 02, 2023

i was left alone for hours starting no later than age 9, and was also tasked with taking care of my brother, age 5. it was honestly better than the shitty babysitters we could afford (one locked me outside with no water, another drove us to the park and left us there all day), but i think it was not amazing for my development to have to also care for my brother.

i definitely also babysat other kids starting at age 10. looking back, all i can think is what in the why damn shit would you do that

because meth, jess. meth is always the answer.

Firebabe June 02, 2023

I go the opposite way. My stepmother was such a distrustful cow that she refused to leave any of us home alone. I think I was around 14 before I ever spent any significant amount of time at the house with no one else there. However, when I was 10 or 11, I lived with my mom for a brief period, and she had no problem with me being home alone for a few hours between school getting out and her coming home from work.

J.E. June 02, 2023

9 or 10. Mom was at work, brothers were probably getting laid, dad went out drinking. 🤷‍♂️

DefyingRules June 02, 2023

I was the youngest so until my brothers were both away at college, I usually got left with them or my live in grandma but I started babysitting at 11-usually for an hour or two at a time. I think I was about 12 or so when both of my brothers were gone to school so my parents would occasionally leave me alone for a few hours so they could go gamble or something.

irate velociraptor June 02, 2023

I wanna say I was like 8-9, but being taken care of by my slightly old brother.

synapse June 02, 2023 (edited June 02, 2023)

Edited

Only child, and I was about 12 when my parents ran out of options, nobody would do it. To everyone's surprise I gradually got milder the longer I was allowed to keep to myself. Sometimes crappy childcare is worse than none.

Fawkes Gal June 07, 2023

I would say probably 11-12 as that's when my older sister went off to college, and with both parents working I would have been home alone after school until 5:30ish.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.