Perspective in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 29, 2023, 6:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

From yesterday. There is a neighborhood here across the river we walk in sometimes. Flat and residential with the most beautiful old trees and four rose gardens at the four corners of the compass. It was a perfect day to walk there as it wasn’t too hot and we were fairly early. I love the buttery yellow fading to white in this perfect rose.

The inside wall is in over at my place. At least all the framing. They need to put up plasterboard next is my guess. I admit to being a bit alarmed when I went over Saturday afternoon and there was water running in one of the bathroom sinks. (They left the vanity and the sinks in.) Hot water. Since Friday afternoon. I can’t imagine they did that on purpose. This is not like a remodel where one invites in and signs a contract for special work. I find having strange men in my place leaving the toilet seat up and water running a bit demoralizing.

A smudge seems to be in order at some point in the near future.

I have a lulu of a bruise on my wrist and forearm. Ample evidence I have been through something. My energy level is almost back to normal though and by tomorrow evening I will be able to be free with my arm and picking things up. Getting groceries home on the bus this morning was a considered logistical challenge without any weight on my arm at all, but I managed it.

The plan is, we will see if I can manage it, to rearrange some of the furniture when I get back. I want to take advantage of what natural light I have for seed growing. I still have both a desk and a workstation from my days working at home, and I am thinking if I can get rid of the desk, I can put all my books in my bedroom and make it into a kind of library study. I also have a large old fashioned file cabinet that is a bear to move.

There is a homeless encampment I have to walk by to get the bus after shopping and I noticed this morning the camper had a small file cabinet outside his tent. You don’t see that every day.

All the downsizing that a number of you are doing is quite inspirational to me. This is the start of my fifth week in Alice and it is astonishing how little of one’s stuff one actually needs to get by. That said, I would like to be the one making the decision on that.

Walt is going to Greece for 4 weeks and Lebanon the week after early in July. I will be grateful for a break in the action with the guys. First though he has 5 of us reading our poems on Zoom next Sunday and he wants an essay or a poem by Wednesday night on Peace. I wrote a first draft of a poem today for that.

I was happy to get that far as I have been concerned that the beta blockers were putting a damper on my creativity.

The last couple of days have been pretty quiet. The budget number thing was resolved today and not by me. This has been such a gift and most helpful in building a sense of equilibrium.

It is the Memorial Day holiday here and I will be most curious to see if I have any students at all for my evening class. Two of my regulars are gallivanting around Europe right now.

Sure seems like a lot of people are going to be on the move this summer.

Not me, The most exciting thing I can think of right now is being home. It is all a matter of perspective, I guess. Mostly I just wanted to share the perfect rose.


Last updated May 29, 2023


Jinn May 29, 2023

It is a perfect rose ! Mine are all blooming like crazy here and I love them.
I hope your share your poem.
Downsizing is not fun in my opinion but I understand I have to .:-(
I hope they get your place sorted ; fast !

Deleted user May 31, 2023

There is a homeless encampment I have to walk by to get the bus after shopping and I noticed this morning the camper had a small file cabinet outside his tent. You don’t see that every day.

That's fodder for a short story if ever there was.

mcbee June 01, 2023

That rose is...indeed...perfect.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.