Does Anything Matter in Trichotomy

  • May 29, 2023, 12:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Maybe you should stop

I played Mozart at the last amateur group’s recital without having paid a lot of attention to preparing for it. I didn’t feel the pressure of playing a concert, as a result I was just going on autopilot at the performance, and it was quite bad. Afterwards, I listened to the practice recordings, which certainly had more care and attention to detail than the concert. It didn’t help that the piano at the concert hall has a lighter touch than Petra, but if I was switched on, it would have been different.

It bothered me a little, but not enough; for the most part I’m not feeling performing was worth the work now.

  • S

On our arses

We started looking at open houses last few months, and currently our conclusion is that houses are overpriced. We are looking to upgrade, with a house closer to public transport, hopefully larger than this one. We’ve been looking into a neighbourhood close to Manhattan where lots of both our colleagues and acquaintances live, and a few other neighbourhoods that are further away where we have a few closer friends. I hadn’t thought of it before, but your priorities also inform how you choose a neighbourhood.

It looks less and less like we will move this summer, but at least we are looking.

  • N

Launch in name only

We are launching our feature at work next month, even though it would be quite useless without some open-source adapter for anyone to use - we have a team making those changes, but that is still a few months away from being released. So we are releasing the non-open-source part only, so that we can claim to have general availability within the 6 month window after private preview.

The private preview had gotten a few dozen companies to sign up, but from the operational metrics, no one actually used the feature. I suppose we can chalk it up to the different operational environment making companies less likely to invest in new projects, I think that’s the problem with chasing market - by the time you get there, it has moved.

During my time on my current team, my first project was cancelled after 3 years, and this one is launching with zero users, so it gets me looking at other teams. Only there aren’t many of them.

  • D


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.