Books of Late in Days of My Destiny

  • Aug. 12, 2014, 1:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Life of Pi - Yann Martel This book had me hooked from the beginning. I love Yann's writing talent. I love how he was so easily able to depict such detail and beauty in all the animals he wrote about. I love how professional and poised his writing seemed. I was disappointed with the ending.

The Spare Room - Helen Garner An amazing book about a woman's experience with a friend who had cancer. It is fiction but seems so real that I find it hard to believe it is indeed fiction. It gave great insight into what it would be like to deal with someone who has cancer. Someone like her friend, anyway. I love how real and raw it was and found that, even though I've never dealt with this terrible disease or known anyone who has, I could somehow relate to the main character's emotions and experience.

Dog Boy - Eva Hornung This book has potential but just did not grab me. I believe it was because I had recently finished Life of Pi, which - like Dog Boy - is a story about a boy and animals. As such there is no dialogue and I think that by the time I was finished with Life of Pi I needed dialogue! I tried to persevere but decided to return the book to the library after all. Also, it had some brutal descriptions in it and I wasn't interested in reading any more.

The People Smuggler - Robin de Crespigny Although I returned Dog Boy partly because of the brutality contained within, The People Smuggler had even more brutality in it. Still, I was able to read it because a) it's a true story and b) it had dialogue and plenty of it! This book made me laugh and cry. It is so well written and I found that I was on the main character's side the whole way.

I've been reading a fair bit lately and enjoying it immensely. This past weekend I spent about 6-8 hours reading, so that I finished The People Smuggler in two days!!! It was great to have a weekend like that and was much needed!


LyrRoraH August 12, 2014

I miss having time to read.

Deleted user August 12, 2014

Awesome :) I'm just spending time in real-time these days. I'm over cyber-world for now. I sure wouldn't mind a weekend like that one!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.