Holding True in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 27, 2023, 1:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There is progress happening with my apartment that I affectionately call Fred. Yesterday afternoon they put new outside siding up. There is a wall, albeit an outside wall, but an actual wall between the kitchen and bathroom and the wider world. Oh my.

I remember clearly when they tore it down about six months ago. (I need to work on the timeline for the final reimbursements). The workmen yesterday, the same ones that told me I had to move out for the work to get finished, remembered me, and asked how it looked and said that all the permitting was finally finished.

What a journey this has been. And I still have all the moving back in falderal to address in the weeks to come. First, they have to build the inside wall and then put my shower/bathtub combo and the kitchen cabinets and sink back in.

Anyone have any shelf paper recommendations?

Once I get the green light to reinhabit the place the good thing is that I will be able to work at it on my own timeline unlike all these externally and seemingly random ones I have been living under for a small chunk of seeming forever. The two important things are to get Carlo settled (he’s really been through it, losing his brother and being displaced) and getting the space to teach in operational.

Just imagine though, whoa, being able to sleep in my own bed. And to have a modicum of privacy. Because for months before the move out I had workmen showing up just outside all sorts of times. The painters, the roofers, the tree guys.

The things we take for granted. Like knowing where our band aids are…

The area of concern on my wrist from the heart procedure is healing well and I will be able to return to all arenas of physical activity in about four days. Push Up Club here I come. (I had to abandon Handstand Club this year.)

I was slightly loopy at the big League of Women Voters dinner and annual membership meeting on Wednesday. Having board members as students helped with that as they all knew I was a little out of it. And I got a seat by an open door with a lovely breeze, which allayed some of my air borne virus concerns.

There are some problems with last year’s budget numbers that came up last night, which I am hoping will not become an issue for me as I am not responsible for them. My numbers belong to next year.

While not currently loopy, I am admitting that the angiogram on top of the displacement, on top of the League stuff, on top of losing Diego, on top of taking on the board responsibilities of The Open Road project while maintaining my teaching schedule has been, um, a bit much… and I am resting today.

Or at least my interpretation of resting, which includes getting cardio, yay, I can do that again, and binge watching the Chelsea Flower Show coverage on Brit Box (big year for Camassia) and catching up on my library books. Not to mention hanging with Carlo and doing laundry.

Tomorrow I am finally going to the garden plot and then Mrs. Sherlock and Frieda and I are going for a walk.

I brought home a lavender Calibrachoa (Million Bells) from the table settings at the dinner. (Nice touch.) I need to get it planted along with the purple basil and the two rangy tomato plants I have. Other folks just started their tomatoes in the garden last week.

The vibe here in my head is that the worst is over for now. I sure do hope that holds true.


Deleted user May 27, 2023

Honestly, in your shoes, I'd be a wreck. All of that is a lot to deal with, but the displacement on top of it would have me stressed to breaking. Your perspective is amazing.

And those Irises are stunning. My favorite flower to look at. (Carnation is my favorite to smell. So delicate.)

noko Deleted user ⋅ May 28, 2023

Oh you would love my dianthus, which has come back this year in brilliant fragrant deep red.

mcbee May 28, 2023

I hope the worst is over! You need a break after all you have been through!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.