Black Velvet in Every day scata

  • May 24, 2023, 7:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is a WIP as I have 50 years of memories to go through in my head. The little file clerk in my brain was already stressed out. When I got the call, he just kinda opened the drawer labeled “Phil Porter” then pushed the whole file cabinet over.

and I super apologize for the horrible writing. I don’t have my pc, I’m spoiled with the internet speed at home (no, it’s really bad just about errywhere but here) and, like I already said, my mind is messier than usual lately.

My entire family loves their music. My grandma Delude was a concert pianist, and made sure that all of her kids learned an instrument. Dad played the violin. My mom didn’t play anything, but always had music on, singing as she did whatever she was doing. She had a transistor radio on her cleaning cart when she was working nights. Music was on as soon as the news was off when I was growing up. My parents did a lot of dancing throughout their lives. Even in the kitchen lol

My brother-in-law was equally into music. No. He was way more into it than my ‘rents. His album collection was absolutely insane. Awesome sound system, too. Well, obviously he had that.

I was super young when he started teaching me about the bands, the albums, the songs. At least as much as you could know pre interwebz. He would put an album on the turntable, pick out a particular song, and we would sit and listen to it in silence. How he got me to actually be quiet for more than one minute at 7 years old is beyond me. Then we would talk about the song. How it made you feel, how loud or quiet parts were. What did you see in your mind’s eye? What does it all mean? Is the whole album a story, or are the songs individual stories? What about the album artwork? On and on and on.

One musical memory stands out. I was obsessed with the album cover on Queens News of the World album. I would fish the record out as soon as I got to their house. I mean, like, every time for a good year or so. If he got sick of putting the album on for me, he never let me know.
He even went out and got Duran Duran’s first… three? albums for me to play when I would go over. I’m sure he didn’t listen to them otherwise lol Being a “Duranie” that really meant a lot to me back then, and means even more to me now that I’m … old. er.

Being a boomer, he usually had 60s and 70s rock going. When The Fine Young Cannibals came out with the album The Raw and the Cooked (the album with She Drives Me Crazy) he surprised me by getting really into them.

But the song he liked the most was Black Velvet by Alannah Myles. If the song came on (if he wasn’t already playing the CD) he cranked it up. Said that she had the sexiest voice lol I can’t listen to the song without thinking of him.

I’m hoping I’ll have a little time to write while I’m with Calie and Hollie this weekend

See ya.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.