Falling a part/Taking a break in New Beginnings

  • Aug. 10, 2014, 8:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I seriously hope I'm not growing old before my time. Somehow, I must have sprained my ankle Thursday night when I was working out. I was practicing spinning side kicks on the heavy bag, and I landed one with bad technique. Suddenly, my right ankle felt super tender, and I'm limping across the aerobics room floor.

Really, I think the main culprit was a new plyometric workout I found on YouTube. I've been doing it once a week every Monday night, and while I don't doubt it's effectiveness, I've come to the conclusion it's better suited for younger guys. I think that combined with my Thursday night workout was too much for my ankle to handle.

However, I also noticed that my back, neck, and left arm haven't been feeling well. Twice a week, I'll do a workout in which I hold a five minute wrestler bridge, but when I tried to do it last Tuesday night, I couldn't get into the position. My neck was too stiff. Not only that, I've noticed when I sit in a firm chair, my left arm and shoulder start feeling numb. I really hope I've just been over exerting myself and that a week off will let me feel better. My ankle is feeling a little better. I can walk, climb up and down stairs, and get in and out of chairs without it bothering me, but certain motions seem to aggravate the joint. Even right now, just sitting on my sofa, it feels rather tender. After spraining it a couple of years ago, I had finally gotten to a point where I thought it was recovered. It would be sensitive the day following a tough workout, but now it feels like I sprained it again. This sucks. I really hope I feel better in a week; I hate being inactive.


Innerbeauty August 10, 2014

Feel better soon!

Star Maiden August 12, 2014

Feel better!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.