How did you choose your children's names? in These titles mean nothing.

  • May 15, 2023, 4:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

For the holiday -----

You don’t have to be specific. I won’t be.

First child was named for his grandfathers.

Second for his father and his uncle.

All four names are pretty common and I suppose old-fashioned. Names of English kings and Catholic saints.


Last updated May 15, 2023


Purple Dawn May 15, 2023

I was determined I was having boys. I had no girls names picked out and they wanted names before they flew them out to a hospital near Vancouver. I picked Jackie and Katie. J comes before K in alphabet, she was born first. I spelled Jaqueline wrong, Kaitlin a different spelling than I would normally use too. I was just out of surgery and a little loopy... lol
Happy Mother's Day!!

Sleepy-Eyed John May 15, 2023

:)

Sleepy-Eyed John May 15, 2023 (edited May 15, 2023)

Edited

My middle name after an uncle. My brother's middle name after our father.

thesunnyabyss May 15, 2023

Laryssa came with the name, lol, we were calling her that for weeks and just couldn't change it, Will was named after my Dad.

NorthernSeeker May 15, 2023

First name...an actress I admired
Second name....my MIL's first name

Florentine May 15, 2023 (edited May 15, 2023)

Edited

Our first is Cecilia, after the patron saint of music (and when we were in Bologna, Italy, she got her saint card from her saint's oratory!). Her middle name is Scout, after the main character in To Kill a Mockingbird.

Josephine paired well with Cecilia, and is also "bookish" since it's from Little Women. Her middle name is Rose because Empress Josephine (first wife of Napoleon) was an avid horticulturist.

Basically, they both have names that are derived from both fictional heroines and historically significant women.

Beret May 15, 2023

Beautiful green lane! My son's first name was random. Not named after anyone. Daughter's name was/is a family name. Both first and second. Second name was my mother's name.

Jinn May 15, 2023

My oldest son is Joshua Adam. My first husband chose Joshua and I wanted to please him. I chose Adam because I liked the name .
My second son is named Blake Allen. We chose Blake because we used to go into a nice little bar every Friday for a drink and dinner. The manager was English , very handsome and friendly .We liked him and we liked his name . I actually wanted to named him Benjamin Franklin but my MIL was appalled. 🤦‍♀️. I still wish I would have . 😂 Blake’s middle name is his Dad’s middle name.

Just Annie May 16, 2023

Katharine is named after Katharine Hepburn. An actress I love and a woman who knew her own mind. My ex wanted to give Kara the name of Mary Margaret, but I refused. My niece, Emily, had a friend named Kara and I liked it. Middle name Marie, which was my father's absolute favorite name and a common family middle name.

Just Annie May 16, 2023

Oh, and my mother almost named me June so I wouldn't forget my birth month. I'm glad she didn't, it took me long enough to feel Ann. I don't think I would ever feel like a June. And I never believed she worried that I would forget my birth month. But she might.

A Pedestrian Wandering May 16, 2023 (edited May 16, 2023)

Edited

Our first was named after my father and our second was named after my wife's father. Because there is no one left on her side to pass down her maiden name, we gave him her last name too, so he has his grandfather's first and last ame. So both my sons have different last names.

Oddly, my father's parents gave all their sons the same middle name (which happened to be their father's fisrt name). My father was no exception except that his first name was also his father's first name, so he has the same first and middle name!

noko May 16, 2023

My niece’s middle name is a name I was called for a time when young. She named her daughter after a fictional character I adored and mentioned in passing as what I would name a daughter when my niece was a teenager. She remembered. So touching.

Rhapsody in Purple May 19, 2023

I’ve never been able to name anyone but I was named after my grandmothers who coincidentally had the same name. Although one had a middle name and the other didn’t. However one grandma never used the name. Her parents want to name her something else but the priest said he’d never baptise someone without a saints name so her parents gave her what became my name but never called her that.

AppleGirl May 20, 2023

Daughter’s first name was named after her paternal great grandmother (I was named after my maternal great grandmother). Middle name is from The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan (a book about mothers and daughters)
Son - first name is Biblical but not common, and middle name is his paternal great great grandfather.

Serin May 23, 2023

I was named for a name my mom had heard and thought was neat.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.