Updating in These Foolish Things

  • May 13, 2023, 9:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The weather forecast said it was supposed to rain all weekend - including the possibility of flash flooding all weekend. The weather lady on TV was actually warming everyone to stay inside all weekend long!

So honestly, that’s what I’ve been doing, though the rain hasn’t been even close to being a seriously dangerous yet this weekend. Maybe tonight? Who knows? I certainly won’t find out because I’m about to go to bed.

I spent the day today sleeping in (when did I become a sleeper-inner?? I hate sleeping in!) and then getting up and taking the dog out in the rain (uh, hell no, she hates the rain but had to poo) and then updating my resume and applying for jobs. I just hate that I have to do this, but I just can’t leave myself open for a breakdown. And I feel like I’m headed for one if I don’t get myself in a better position.

Monday I will have been at my new job for 90 days. Have I given it a chance? Yes, I feel like I have. Will I continue to go? Of course I will. I really want to stay for at least 6 months, but I don’t know if Chief Cutie even wants me to. It’s such a bizarre scenario.

But updating my resume and starting to apply elsewhere is probably the best thing I should do right now considering it’s supposedly easier to get a job while you have a job, right?

I dunno. But what I do know is that I’m just not happy right now.

Would I like to stay here in my new city? Yes. But I’m also open to going back to my old city or a couple of other places too. I probably wouldn’t consider that Provo, Utah job if it were to come open, but I’d likely consider locations I hadn’t before. In fact, I sent in an application today for a job in Philly (hey, Elaine Benes!).

So anyway. Off to bed I go. I’d say even though it didn’t feel super productive today, maybe one of those opportunities might end up reaching out and that would be fantastic!

Still lonely as ever, but I have to change that too.

Love,
GS


Kate May 13, 2023

You know, there is always Washington, DC. And there are a lot of funky design shops in (believe it or not) West Virginia, and even Richmond, VA.

Deleted user Kate ⋅ May 16, 2023

I second this and can guarantee you would meet lots of fun, interesting people with whom to do fun, interesting things in the D.C. area. HINT HINT.

Jinn May 14, 2023

Fingers crossed that a new position appears for you !

sudare May 14, 2023

It’s always good to have another option for the future.

WhatDreamsMayCome May 14, 2023

Wishing you the best.

Complicated Disaster May 15, 2023

It never hurts to apply for jobs - and it's always easier to get a job when you've got a job! xx

colder May 15, 2023

I think you've given it your all, and there's no harm in preparing and putting feelers out there. I will be curious to see if it is indeed easier to find a job when you have one!

Deleted user May 16, 2023

It's hard to come to such decisions, but ya know? In your writing, you just haven't seemed all that happy. It's like Ginger is losing her Snap, and as you have always struck me like one of those fun-loving, free-spirited people I want to be when I grow up, it made me sad to see you stressed. You're one of the lights, dear. Stay lit!

Serin May 18, 2023

Good luck. With the applications but also the current job.

And the flash-flooding, too. Don't do that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.