April Showers in Scottish Meanderings

  • May 28, 2023, 3:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not really much to report this month - April continued to be very rough so there's been very little done apart from the basics and sometimes these have fallen by the wayside as well so everything's built up and got behind again. I did start to stabilise a bit this month (May I mean) but we had the family get together and then I was babysitting all 3 kids plus Alfie last Saturday so I held on till both those events were over before I made another cut on Saturday night. This week I feel really shit - sleep is all over the place, I have no energy, frequent trips to the loo and a host of other stuff too boring to mention but which drives me to distraction. I'm struggling with trying to stay positive and the thought of having to carry on like this for the next 2-3 years.

It's also made me resentful of other people just enjoying a normal life and I hate that. On Wednesday in our family video chat with Ian, Margaret and Lorna, Lorna was basking in sunshine at a campsite between Inverness and Nairn, full of the joys of life and the birdsong around her and away to meet friends to spend the weekend with. I was struggling to stay upright on the chair and 'put a face on' for the screen and I couldn't help thinking how lovely it must be just to take off like that and enjoy the simple pleasures in life. This drug has robbed me of being able to do anything like that - there's no ability to feel joy in anything at all so I'm basically pushing through everything in order to lay down some decent memories.

But it's also kind of interesting how I've dealt with that - almost like my body knew instinctively what it had to do.

I adopted a strategy of operating from memory. What used to give me pleasure? What gave me joy? What made my soul sing before this all happened? So I tried to do as much of those things as I could figuring when I'm able to feel joy again, those foundations will be there and built up all ready for that fantastic day when that feeling breaks through! And it does work - there was one evening the fog lifted just for a couple of hours and someone had mentioned a particular piece of classical music (Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata) they loved. I brought it up on my phone and started listening to it and began crying because I could feel the emotion of the music and appreciate it properly - and that led me to get out the sheet music and start playing it on the piano - at 11.30 p.m.! Thankfully these houses are well insulated!

It doesn't help that the house is so cluttered and I'm not making progress with any of the 'big stuff' but it's all around me so I can't help noticing it or be distracted from it. I'm still waiting to get the base done for the summer house (landscapers are doing the base - a different company are doing the summer house) so the back garden is a real mess because the weeds have started growing again and it looks like there's at least one live cable from the shed out there but the source can't be found so I'm hoping they will still be able to build around it. So the bike and lawnmower are still sitting in my sitting room and there's stuff from the shed in my kitchen and spare bedroom plus the boxes I took into the house and didn't manage to sort through before it was demolished.

I have however managed to get my oven working again - it's been out of action for - oh over a year now - but because I still had the microwave, grill and hob, it wasn't on the 'urgent' list so I finally got a new element fitted on it last week. Then I sliced through the cable of the lawnmower I literally had just bought the week before and wasted time thinking I could repair that myself because it looked simple enough on YouTube - but I couldn't find anything to strip the very thin insulation from the wires. I asked one of my neighbours who had helped me fit extra spacers on it previously and he said he'd pop round on the following Monday night then never turned up. I don't understand when people do that - I mean how awkward is it going to be when I see him when we're coming and going outside now??

Anyway the electrician who fitted the element sorted it for me so that's done but when my Dyson packed up in the same week and the filters I ordered for it didn't fit, I couldn't cope on top of feeling so ill so just ran up to Curry's one night and bought the newest version (V12) in 10 minutes flat! I'm glad I did though because it's much lighter to operate and doesn't hurt my back quite so much as the old one did.

And I think I've managed to find what seems to be a nice dentist after a long search. I've always had issues with the dentist after a bad experience as a child and I'd found one I could really trust several years ago so that made the whole process of going so much easier. However she upped and offed to Texas with her family about 3 years ago and I've been trying to find one ever since without much success. I e-mailed a couple of dental surgeries who proclaimed to deal with nervous patients and was impressed with the reply from one of them - several paragraphs explaining they don't have a one size fits all strategy because patients' fears differ a lot and although they did offer sedation, patients often didn't want it and preferred to try and work through the fear if possible.

I liked the sound of that so made an appointment and had a checkup. I had to go private though so it cost me 140 quid! However she had a lovely manner and took time to talk to me about my fears initially then make sure I was okay while I got the exam and x-rays done. I knew I had very bad gum disease and my teeth are in really bad shape - the last dentist I went to told me very bluntly how bad things were - but she gave me the same information but in a much nicer way and made me feel like she really wanted to help me get things back on track. So I have an appointment for the first filling needed at the end of June. That's going to be difficult because the last filling I got made me ill for 10 days - it seemed to be a bad reaction to the injection and we thought it was because of the epinephrine as some folk react to that but the dentist didn't think the injection I got had epinephrine in it so that caused confusion. I know I'll be terrified the same thing happens again but will just have to go and try.

So - tiny victories - but I have to celebrate them nevertheless - it's good for me to do these entries because it makes me try and think of positives for the month.

And another one is this not-so-little-girl-any-more turned 8.

She was out at Joel's on her actual birthday so the night before I came out and babysat Lily and Ruari so that Nikki could take her for some Mummy/Daughter time - they went to the pictures and then had tea together. They were just leaving to go out after she blew her candles out and by the time they got home it was bedtime so she never got a piece of that cake until the Sunday night when she was back home again!

Nikki got a blood test for the bruising I mentioned in my last entry and the doctor did a complete turnaround and doesn't think it's self-harm now so she's been referred to the Haematology Department at the hospital for them to investigate further. They're not too worried at the moment because she's not unwell with it but if anything changes obviously Nikki can get back in touch and they'll speed things up.

Other than that all 3 kids are fine and Nikki's loving her childminding although has stressful days sometimes - she sent me this photo of one such day where she was trying to get two little ones to nap and they kept being woken by something - first of all it was one of the cats being sick, then Alfie barked, then someone started up with a drill outside, then the doorbell went, then the phone went, until she eventually got one down but had to sit with the other one holding his hand. He finally dropped off after which she managed to get the grass cut for 20 minutes before she broke the blade on the lawnmower and they both woke up! I think it's just such a cute pic though!


Lily is turning into a real bookworm.


She reads her favourites over and over and tries to guilt me into buying her more books which, if she was the only grandchild, I would in a heartbeatšŸ˜Š

I try to get out for a walk every day no matter how bad I'm feeling and sometimes Nikki will text to see if I've had one yet and we all go together - or if the girls are at Joel's she'll text me to go for a walk with Ruari and Alfie.

This is from a recent one we were all on and to look at it you'd think we were one big happy family - but 2 seconds later all 3 of them were fighting with each otheršŸ˜


So that's me - hopefully there'll be a better report when I come to do May!



Last updated May 28, 2023


JustSurviveSomehow May 28, 2023

What kind of drug takes 2-3 years to work?! That sounds crazy to me! I am so sorry that you've been having such a terrible time. That is incredibly awkward about your neighbor too. Not sure why people offer services and then never follow through.

Marg JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ May 28, 2023

Itā€™s a tapering off process - this one is a horror to come off especially at the lower doses so I have to go really slowly, cutting around 3% at a time and holding for at least a month, usually more - itā€™s soul destroying!

JustSurviveSomehow Marg ⋅ May 28, 2023

What is the medication, if you don't mind me asking?

Marg JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ May 28, 2023

Itā€™s Mirtazapine, an anti depressant (maybe known as Remeron over there?) - a horrible drug that hits over four receptors - 53% of the folk on it
have major life-changing issues whilst on it then huge withdrawal issues trying to come off it. I honestly donā€™t know why itā€™s still prescribed.

The Tranquil Loon May 28, 2023

Proud of you for pushing through Even when you don't feel like it In the end I really believe it will pay off. But good for you forgetting a new vacuum cleaner that's Wonderful

Marg The Tranquil Loon ⋅ May 28, 2023

Thank you - I really hope itā€™s going to be worth all this angst and misery lol!
I was berating myself for spending all that money on the new Dyson but Iā€™m glad I didšŸ˜

The Tranquil Loon Marg ⋅ June 03, 2023

I quit one of my medications and didn't sleep for six months, lucky to get one to two and a half hours nightly, but eventually I slept again and the adverse effects of the medication were no longer there.

Marg The Tranquil Loon ⋅ June 04, 2023

Yes I've come off two other psychiatric drugs cold turkey and had a similar experience but I just don't have it in me to go through that again because I wasn't functional at all - plus I know this one is much worse to come off so will have to accept it's going to be a long, slow process. I'll get there one day!

Just Annie May 29, 2023

Sending hugs and loving thoughts your way. May will be a better month for you, I hope.

I completely understand about dentists. It took me 50 years to find one I like and trust and even though I have to travel an hour away to see him, I will as long as I can. He's that good.

Marg Just Annie ⋅ June 01, 2023

I would do the same if I found a good one for sure!

Justlovely May 30, 2023

100% please celebrate the tiny victories. Moonlight Sonata is my favorite piece of music of any and all music ever. It ALWAYS affects me physically when I listen to it. I do a lot of reading about what types of activities/supplements help the body produce the things that allow us to feel good and normal and not cranky. Music is definitely one to keep in your pocket. Remember that the stuff with your body tricks your mind. Life can be OK, and if the body isn't letting you notice what's going right, you're fighting that uphill battle that can keep you exhausted and discouraged. But people love you and like you and we want to be your friend even when you are getting overwhelmed by this struggle. Keep writing.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ June 01, 2023

I still remember my sister discovering Moonlight Sonata when she was taking piano lessons - I was dancing around in the sitting room and she stopped me to listen to her playing it because it was so beautiful! However there were 7 years between us - I must have been around 10 or something - and I think I was too young to appreciate it at that point but I never forgot that and now I absolutely love it!
You are so right - the drug is constantly telling me lies all the time and yes that continual fight is just exhausting but I must find a way to accept what's happening and push through it somehow. Thank you for those lovely words - they made me fill up! I appreciate them so much because this thing can be very isolating - a lot of the time you're not believed so I generally don't mention it much any more (apart from to others going through the same thing) unless anyone asks specifically.

Justlovely May 30, 2023

I love that you get to spend some time with the kids. And yeah, I remember when mine were babies. I was lucky not to work, and I could do the sitting with them if they needed it. While I advocate everyone doing what works for them, I could never let my babies lie alone in distress. Now, both of them are pretty good about their sleeping habits as adults.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ June 01, 2023

Yeah exactly - Nikki wouldn't go to sleep at all unless someone else was in the room no matter how many times I tried to leave her on her own so I used to sit and write my diary in her bedroom until she fell asleep. That worked for both of us. The girls are really good sleepers but she's only just got Ruari into his own bed and he's 4! I suspect that might have had something to do with him being the 'last baby' because he was sleeping in Nikki's bed before thatšŸ˜Š

noko May 30, 2023

Glad to see you post. The progress has got to feel so frustratingly slow. Glad Nikki and the family are doing well. I can understand the annoyance with others just blithely doing things you long to do with ease.

Marg noko ⋅ June 01, 2023

I hate the resentment when I start to feel it but I get where it's coming from.

NorthernSeeker May 31, 2023

You are doing really well in cutting down on your dosage reduction with sensible variations to take a few days longer when you are committed to childcare. Is there a library close by that Lily could use to get books. I don't think I've heard any diarist talk about the library system in the UK.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ June 01, 2023

They're shutting down a lot of the local libraries here as the local councils are making cuts everywhere - swimming pools are another victim which is awful. There's not a library where she lives but there is one in the nearby town - if my health was better I'd arrange to take all of them through to it to get books but it's too much for me to do that at the moment unfortunately.

Kristi1971 June 03, 2023

I have a similar neighbor situation. He said he would come by late January and trim my Japanese Maple. He never came by. It could be awkward, but I choose to let it be awkward on my end. Him not following through is on him, not me. So I still wave and say hello and just carry on as if it we never talked about it. I will find someone else to take care of my maple. That might be a good solution for you. Just drop it like it was never a conversation. It's his deal that he didn't follow through - not yours. And you got your situation resolved. No worries. Hugs.

Oooh, I Love your new dentist! What a gem. :) So happy for you!

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ June 04, 2023

Yes that's what I'm doing - he literally stays 2 doors away but when he left in the car the other day and I was out in the garden he waved at me so that's good - I'll just not ask him to do anything else!šŸ˜

Kristi1971 Marg ⋅ June 04, 2023

Perfect! You are awesome.

thesunnyabyss June 08, 2023

I'm sorry you are still going thru this, how frustrating it must be.

Those kids are getting so big, so fast, lol.

Take care!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.