I need help - thanks for the help in These titles mean nothing.

  • May 8, 2023, 4:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We got a new dog. I will post a picture soon. She’s a 4-yr-old Huskie mix from the humane society and she’s a nice dog. Ok. So what’s the problem? She went upstairs and she won’t come down. It’s that steep narrow staircase that I’ve been avoiding.... though I’ve been up and down twice today. Jim’s looked up on-line advice and it says not to force her and to be honest we have tried a little bit and did’t get anywhere. Do you think if we leave her alone she will eventually come down by herself. She weighs about 90lbs - we are supposed to take for walks/not runs and restrict her eating. All was well until she went upstairs......

Thanks everyone.

edit - a slice of deli ham got her down - plus patience and coaxing. She’s 90 lbs - is supposed to lose 20 of ‘em - so she’s not easily handled. I got Gracie’s wading pool out. Lots of excitement.


Last updated May 08, 2023


gattaca May 08, 2023

Place little treats on each stair riser. When she (hopefully) comes down, put one of those child gates at the bottom of the staircase.
Good luck!

woman in the moon gattaca ⋅ May 08, 2023

Thanks much. A slice of good deli ham did the trick. Took another one to get her collar back on her - we went out in the pasture and had more adventures. I got Gracie's wading pool out of the woodshed and put maybe four gallons of water in it. Next is a semi-bath. Wish me more luck.

Zappel May 08, 2023

Saw you on the front page -- congrats on your new dog! I have a rescue dog who is anxious about some things too, and I agree with the advice to not force her. When my dog is given space to figure things out at her own pace, then the next time she can do them without any fear.

You could try sitting with your dog at the top of the stairs and encourage her down one step at a time (and maybe at first she only goes down one step and then goes back up; that's okay, slow is fast for stuff like this!). But I suspect she'll manage it in her own time when she's given space to do so. In the meantime you could put her water and a comfy bed up there so she's not worried about those things. I bet your dog is overwhelmed at the moment, so anything you can do to help her feel less stressed in general will probably help her feel braver to try the stairs.

woman in the moon Zappel ⋅ May 08, 2023

I did that too - with the treats.
I've new adult dogs but they've been ones abandoned on the road. Getting one on purpose seems to put a different level of responsibility on ME.

NorthernSeeker May 08, 2023

I remember Trillium having this problem in an adopted dog that had never lived in a house with stairs. I think they had to go up and carry her down a few times and then train her to use stairs. In her brain she probably thinks it is all one level.

noko May 09, 2023

Glad you were able to figure it out. My experience with huskies is that they are not easy around cats. So maybe she will be half easy with yours?

Purple Dawn May 09, 2023

Is she vocal like huskies can be?
Food is a tempting motivator..for me too...lol

Serin May 12, 2023

Glad you got her down!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.