Imaginary Slight in Lyrics

  • Aug. 5, 2014, 3:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yay, thanks to Tammy I have figured out the mystery to editing my lyric entries. I didn't realize I had to put a break tag after every line. Much better.

I wrote this song a couple nights ago. I was listening to the Black Keys at the time so it would be something in that style.

All these scars are fake
And yet they
Pulse with pain just the same
Every sleepless night
I'm taken down
By an imaginary slight
And if you offered aid
I'd deny you just the same

Though the wounds aren't real
They are stubborn
Staunchly refusing to heal
Every sleepless night
I tip the scales
To see the balance right
No artificial substances
Mostly artificial instances

I can't compete
Unable to trace the anguish
In so many elegant words
No one looks this way
And undisturbed
Remains the mesmerizing charade

On those many sleepless nights
I fight and see my strength absorbed
Fall in, pass out, wake up
And resume trying to end the war

All these scars are fake
And yet they
Pulse with pain just the same
Every sleepless night
I'm taken down
By an imaginary slight
And if you offered aid
I'd deny you just the same


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.